We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like in fairy-tails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Excellent location in old center. Built in the 13th century has kept its design but with added up comfort for the guests. Very welcoming staff, iron framed bed from the middle ages, very soft, big and comfortable. Huge bathroom with a superb bathtub, to enjoy after a long walk in the cool sunset. Breakfast was also suprisingly reach in possibilities.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mada582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 395 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Very friendly staff - warm atmosphere. Architecture, design and decoration is an experience! There is preserved a lot of history, but still very modern. Clean, in order and proper, quiet and good breakfast. The location is very good - at the heart of this magnificent Gothic city. strongly recommends this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ståle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed in this decent cottage-style hotel for one of the legs of my honeymoon. I picked the suite on the top floor, but was quite surprised at what I got. It's a cottage style hotel so you really can't expect to get Ritz Carlton type decor and feel. The part that really got me by surprise was when I asked where the airconditioning was, given it was summer. Turns out there isn't ANY air conditioning whatsover, so my wife and I had to sleep in a stuffy suite with the covers off.

I mean it's pretty charming but this is nowhere near 4 or 5 stars. The one man service is great, the guy is super friendly but ultimately if I had to go back to Rothenburg I would stay somewhere else. I'm not sure if there are better hotels though.

Breakfast was pretty simple too. Nothing fancy or great. The location was fantastic though, right in the middle of town but not in a too crowded area.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Shaun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel is a blend of old and new. Within the comfortable rooms, you can see pieces of 700 year old floor, ceiling and walls. The furniture was charming, made to seem in style with olden times, but still modern and comfortable. Our bathroom was exceeding large with a huge modern tub. We got free internet in the room, plus the breakfast was nice. They had most things laid out, but would make the eggs by order. Location is very near market square, just a few steps away from the large Kathe Wohlfahrt store, which made things very convenient for us. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The location couldn't be more perfect!

If you have a car, parking is just across the hotel for €5/day. You can pay and get the parking ticket at the hotel reception.

We stayed at room 10 which is facing inside, so there's no street view. We don't mind it because we had a street view in the last hotel we stayed at and we welcome the peace and quiet in Hotel Gotisches. But if you want a view, ask for a front-facing room. The room is very charming. And the bathroom is wonderful and HUGE!

If you have luggage, the hotel has a lift. You may also borrow iron if needed. Friendly and helpful staff. Free WIFI internet.

We also love the breakfast buffet. There's a big assortment of fruits, breads, cheese, meats, etc. Scrambled egg (w/ or w/o cheese can be requested from the server). However, the hotel does not have a restaurant so you may have to go somewhere else but that is not a problem because there are tons of cafes and restaurants around.

I would highly recommend Gotisches Haus!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkpixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This lovely rustic hotel in located right in the center of town and just a few doors down from the famous Kathe Wohlfart store. The hotel maintains much of the old charm with all the modern conviences. The bathrooms are extremely large and newly decorated. I suggest asking for a room that has a view of city square. We went in september but would think this hotel would be ideal during the Christmas Markets! The breakfast is simply the best we had in Germany. Parked our car across the street from hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful with what to see in town and surrounding area. We will stay here again on our return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel is right in the heart of the town, only 100 metres from the central square where the Christmas market is held. The entrance hall/cafe where breakfasts are taken is wonderfully spacious and stylish in true German rustic style. Bedrooms are roomy and very tastefully renovated. A nasty surprise was the quality of the sheets. We stayed in the incredible suite on the top floor, and yet the bedclothes were so rough that we thought the bed had not been made up properly! And there were two single mattresses on a double bed which could not be separated into two. (This hotel has no twin rooms.) For such a swish and expensive place these were unpleasant surprises which we did not experience in a 3 star hotel in Nuremberg where we stayed on our way home. Breakfasts were superb. A vast array of meats, fish, bread, fruit, cereals - all of the highest quality. Coffee was OK. Service was fine: perhaps lacked a little of the delight factor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4Elmsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
642 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotisches Haus

Address: Herrngasse 13, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $104 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotisches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gotisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotisches Haus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing