We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location! Old German Charm.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This lovely rustic hotel in located right in the center of town and just a few doors down from the famous Kathe Wohlfart store. The hotel maintains much of the old charm with all the modern conviences. The bathrooms are extremely large and newly decorated. I suggest asking for a room that has a view of city square. We went in september but would think this hotel would be ideal during the Christmas Markets! The breakfast is simply the best we had in Germany. Parked our car across the street from hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful with what to see in town and surrounding area. We will stay here again on our return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 395 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel is right in the heart of the town, only 100 metres from the central square where the Christmas market is held. The entrance hall/cafe where breakfasts are taken is wonderfully spacious and stylish in true German rustic style. Bedrooms are roomy and very tastefully renovated. A nasty surprise was the quality of the sheets. We stayed in the incredible suite on the top floor, and yet the bedclothes were so rough that we thought the bed had not been made up properly! And there were two single mattresses on a double bed which could not be separated into two. (This hotel has no twin rooms.) For such a swish and expensive place these were unpleasant surprises which we did not experience in a 3 star hotel in Nuremberg where we stayed on our way home. Breakfasts were superb. A vast array of meats, fish, bread, fruit, cereals - all of the highest quality. Coffee was OK. Service was fine: perhaps lacked a little of the delight factor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4Elmsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Gotisches Haus (GH) is located almost next door to the Market Place and Kathe Wohlfart in the atmospheric centre of Rothenburg.
This small hotel is contained within one of the original Rothenburg town houses, and retains all of the character associated with its past. The common area is a large room with large beams, and is where breakfast is served. It is also possible to have a light lunch here- but it is necessary to go elsewhere for an evening meal (Hotel Eisenhut close by is an excellent choice).
Rooms are characterful with LARGE bathrooms. Service was excellent. Parking close by for 5 euro per day. If you are thinking of a weekend trip to Rothenburg (recommended during December for the Christmas market) then GH is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Can't say much that hasn't been said already. Awesome room with wonderful bathroom, although bed was soft! Very historically renovated, parked across from hotel on street, did have to pay for this but no big deal. Breakfast was simply incredible, anything and everything you can imagine, you won't need lunch! Staff friendly and helpful. Would stay again without hesitation! Make sure you walk the city walls, but duck often if you are over 6' high.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonGal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here while traveling on the romantic road in Germany. The whole town looks like it is a medieval set out of a movie. We were very pleasantly surprised to see that even the inside of our hotel made us feel like we had travelled back in time to the middle ages. That is, until you see the modern bathroom fittings.

The hotel is very centrally-located in the town and everything is within walking distance. We had our own car and parked it on the side of the street outside the hotel. The hotel provided us with 5 euros/day parking permits.

The hotel is very small, with a total of only 11 rooms. Our room was quite reasonable in size and we had a beautiful 4 poster bed. The furniture in the rooms are also very fitting to the theme of the hotel and town. The bathroom is a wonderful mixture of medieval and modern decor, with large wooden ceiling beams and modern bathroom fittings. There were even his and her washbasins and a large corner bathtub.

Breakfast is also included and is served downstairs in the similarly beautiful cafe of the hotel. There is also free wireless internet to make it easier to stay in touch with the rest of the world.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auspoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary on a European trip in May of 2011. This hotel was quite the walk from the train station and you might want to rent a taxi. It was .5 block from the town's main square. There were a few tables and chairs in the front. The inside was identical to the hotel's website and decorated beautifully throughout. It was very charming with a small elevator and stairs going up to the rooms. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom huge with a large whirlpool tub big enough for 2. There was mini stocked refrigerator. My husband sleeps with a fan and they had none so the manager went to his home and brought us back a tower type fan. How nice is that :). The breakfast was very good with multiple choices including eggs made to order your choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Our second night in Germany was spent at this hotel, and it was execellent. The room itself was a bit small, however the bathroom was almost as big as the room and had a huge tub! Everything was very clean, and quiet. Even a cool mini glass elevator that took us up to the second floor. The service was great as well, and they put on a real feast for us for breakfast, unfortunately, we didnt have time to eat much as usual. Great location, just a 1 min walk from the town square. Staff were very friendly too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank above_the_rim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
642 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotisches Haus

Address: Herrngasse 13, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $104 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotisches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gotisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotisches Haus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing