We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Rothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roter Hahn Rothenburg
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed March 19, 2007

We have stayed at the Roter Hahn on two separate occasions and have been more than pleased with our accommodations. The hotel is located on small quite street just off the Market Square down a shop filled street offering everything from post cards to wine to diamonds. The Roter Hahm is centrally located to use as a base to explore this beautiful “walking friendly” Medieval Walled city. If you want to feel like you have stepped back into the era of the Night Watchmen – then this is your hotel. Our room was small compared to American Standards, but just fine compared to your typical European accommodations. Our rate included breakfast that had everything you would want to get your day started. They provided free parking that was located a few blocks from the hotel in a secured parking area.

They have a restaurant that is staffed with very friendly servers and offers some of the best German Dishes you will find in Bavaria – my favorite was a sampling of meat & sausage accompanied with hot mustard, cabbage and potatoes. We enjoyed a bottle of locally produced red wine and ended our dinner with a slice of homemade warm Apple Strudel. We had the opportunity to enjoy a few after dinner drinks in their bar (not the one in the restaurant but another one located in the hotel just past the reception desk) that seemed to cater to Rothenburg’s locals. It was here we spent some time with the hotels owner Mr. Gallus and his daughter. They along with their entire staff have been more than accommodating to our needs during our visits to Rothenburg.

We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable room at a reasonable rate.

Ask about the Night Watchmen's City walking tour - he does the tour in English at 8pm.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WWCCNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for Roter Hahn Rothenburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 61 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2007

This hotel does not deserve any business. If you ever trust a word that the hotel manager Herr Dieter A. Gallus tells you with regard to your booking you are setting yourself up for disappointment.

We have stayed in this hotel with a large group and intended to return again soon but the hotel management have decided to employ a policy of accepting a booking and then, when someone else comes along with an offer to pay more for your room, they cancel your booking without telling you and leave you without a room or anywhere to stay.

I am not a hotelier but this seems to me to be the very best way to lose customers in the quickest and most direct route possible.

Save yourself some heartache and disappointment and book your stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank leojenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank PeterEmsdetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wir_Zwei_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Plantas superiores
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ema067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015
Thank allwebera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015
Thank Carne81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#37 of 45 in Rothenburg
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
118 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#17 of 45 in Rothenburg
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
#9 of 45 in Rothenburg
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#11 of 45 in Rothenburg
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
#44 of 45 in Rothenburg
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roter Hahn Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roter Hahn Rothenburg

Address: Obere Schmiedgasse 21, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $131 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roter Hahn Rothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roter Hahn Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing