We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and cosy hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roter Hahn Rothenburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roter Hahn Rothenburg
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Clean and cosy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

My stay in this hotel was very enjoyable. It is within walking distance of all attractions in the Old Town. Breakfast was superb. I can recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Make sure you read the specifications of the room you want on the hotel's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
24
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nahant, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

This was the first visit to Germany for our oldest son, wife and granddaughter, perhaps the 20th for us. The overall trip was outstanding in itself, with visits to Munich, Salzburg and many friendly cousins in the Allgau. But it was one night in the Roter Hahn and Rothenburg that impressed them most. They walked the entire city, much of it on the wall, taking hundreds of photos exclaiming over each new view. By nightfall they were tired--the Roter Hahn welcomed us to lovely and clean rooms, a quiet sleep, and a wonderful breakfast. Tom asked us laterif we could plan another trip just to Rothenburg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nmcginn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

However, if you are looking for the Ritz experience this is not your hotel. The decor is dated but that just adds to the charm of the hotel. The manager is extremely nice and accommodating, as are all the people that work there. The hotel is located right in the heart of town and close to absolutely everything and has a very reasonable price. We were only going to stay one night and extended our trip another two, till we left Germany all together. I would hands down come back to the Roter Hahn and would recommend it to anyone, looking for charm and affordability in the most beautiful town in Germany. Not sure if it is worth getting the continental breakfast included in your room, as there are many kaffee places in town. The Night Watchman tour is a must as well, very worth your time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fairly similar and there is an elevator so that is perfect! You can get good deals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrie8172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed two nights earlier this month (July 2011) with husband and 14 yo son. The hotel was able to provide a triple room, and the beds were comfy for all 3 of us. Furniture, wall coverings, curtains, and bathroom had a 1980's mobile home style...even the tiny tv was from that time frame. But who goes to Rothenburg to sit in a hotel and watch tv? The place was clean, offered free wifi (hard to find in Germany), and had a great location! I found it quaint, but certainly not modern or fancy.
Skip the 8.50 per person Euro breakfast of basically rolls and cheese....there are several good bakeries within the city walls (easy to reach).
If you get a good rate, this is not a bad choice. Walking around town, many of the hotels looked similar to this one (on the outside at least).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I found this hotel in our Rough Guides travel book on Germany. This is a superb location in the town, and is a historic building, built in 1380. We cannot understand why a great hotel like this, in the most amazing European town we have been to yet, was less than 70Euros per night in the middle of peak summer season!

Our room was nice and spacious, with new furnishings. The atmosphere in the hotel was perfect (you can't get this in North America!). The attached restaurant served local cuisine that we loved, and the drink menu was well-rounded. Enjoy the local wines and beers!

The staff was always very helpful when asked any questions and are able to do so in at least 3 languages...English, Spanish, and German of course. We always like to explore new towns and areas when travelling, but Rothenburg ob der Tauber and the Roter Hahn are on the agenda to return to one day! We had initially planned on taking a day trip from Munich here and are really glad we went there for two days. We are really fast-paced travellers, but recommend at least 3 nights here if possible.

We hope this helps your planning and enjoyment of your trip...:)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpenceAndHolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Hotel Roter Hahn provided a clean, spacious room, a helpful front desk staff and an overall high quality experience.

The wood panel furniture, although a bit dated, is in good condition. The small card/work table was useful; we never turned on the tiny, late 80s CRT TV. Great water and water pressure but had to rig the hose so the water would achieve a productive direction. Great location, 100 yards from Market Square.

The woman checking us out was either incompetent or a thief. She charged us for breakfast on our second morning but as she is both the hostess and waitress, she should clearly have known we did not have breakfast. We only dined at the hotel's restaurant on our first morning -- which was a pretty boring array of meats and cheeses and breads -- definitely not worth the price, even with the meager scrambled eggs.

If I were returning to Rothenberg, I would be tempted to stay at a B&B or at the one luxury hotel in the city.

Lastly, if you park in the "free" parking, be sure you park in the free part of it -- a few rows are not free. We arrived at our car to the tune of a 10 Euro ticket. Drive to the end of Parking #4 or Frau Schopf will get you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillerWordScore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Four of us called this wonderful old inn home for 5 days at the start of June. The location one block off the main square and across from St. John's Church was a beautiful spot. Our room overlooked a narrow side street with a small café and large trees where birds sang each morning. From the first greeting to our last goodbyes the staff treated us as special guests. We ate many of our meals in their quaint dining room, surrounded by antique collectibles or at their sidewalk café next to the bustle and energy of the street. The foods and beers were excellent, served with enthusiasm, smiles and any help needed. This was certainly one of our most enjoyable and memorable travel experiences ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pandrlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#37 of 47 in Rothenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#29 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#11 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roter Hahn Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roter Hahn Rothenburg

Property: Roter Hahn Rothenburg
Address: Obere Schmiedgasse 21, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roter Hahn Rothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Roter Hahn Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing