We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A historic and charming inn that felt like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roter Hahn Rothenburg
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Four of us called this wonderful old inn home for 5 days at the start of June. The location one block off the main square and across from St. John's Church was a beautiful spot. Our room overlooked a narrow side street with a small café and large trees where birds sang each morning. From the first greeting to our last goodbyes the staff treated us as special guests. We ate many of our meals in their quaint dining room, surrounded by antique collectibles or at their sidewalk café next to the bustle and energy of the street. The foods and beers were excellent, served with enthusiasm, smiles and any help needed. This was certainly one of our most enjoyable and memorable travel experiences ever.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pandrlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 61 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2010

I spent one night in this hotel. I may have been the only one there, and getting help at the front desk was a little slow at times (maybe understaffed at this time of the year?) but I'm pretty laid back and was so excited to be in Rothenburg. The owners were friendly though. The location can't be beat - right across the street from the Medieval Crime and Punishment Museum, next to an internet cafe, and just a few minutes from the town center. The bathroom is small. I am tall, and the bathroom was almost too small for me - had to duck in the shower, etc. The breakfast was typical but fresh. The room was cold and knob to the radiator didn't work, but did I mention the location? The value was great, featherbed was warm, room was comfortable and a good size for a single occupant - included a sitting area with a table. Not fancy by any means, but that's not what I look for when I travel. I would stay again - price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Notna4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel is located right near the downtown and is easily reached by walking from the train station. We stayed there 1 night and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple but clean and are a great value. The food is also very good and reasonably priced. This is a great choice for a budget traveller and we are planning on staying here again next time we are in town. Rothenburg is a great place to visit and this hotel made our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erich32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

After flying all night and driving half the day, the Roter Hahn was a wonderful place to land. If English-speaking staff is of concern to you: Owner speaks perfect English and staff also is very comfortable in English. Room was comfortable and spotless. Location right in the heart of walled village is perfect. Lots going on, but room was quiet. The only issue was parking. It is difficult near the hotel, no matter what. Because of a festival going on, the village was closed to traffic and we had to park in a public lot some distance away. However, staff was very helpful in letting us know when we would be able to drive in before and after streets were closed to traffic so we could load and unload luggage. The hotel has an elevator, helpful for getting luggage to second floor as well as for those with limited mobility. Restaurant on site was also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Drove from Mannheim to Rothenburg after flying in that morning. The Hotel was lovely, old and full of charm and Antiques. The Staff could not have been nicer and the Owner was quite helpful. I only had one and 1/2 days but will return and will stay at the Hotel Roter Hahn again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank birdfan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We spent two nights at the Roter Hahn in Rothenburg o. d. Tauber. The location couldn't be better; it's right off the main square. Our room was a basic double. It was clean, tidy, and best of all, very quiet (the only thing we heard was the city bells ringing every hour). The corridors and public areas are a bit kitschy, full of old knickknacks and such, but the rooms are fairy up to date. The staff was friendly and helpful; breakfast downstairs was your basic German fare (bread, cheese, sliced meats, yogurt, fruit, meusli, coffee, juice) but of qood quality. We would return; it was a simple hotel but met our needs.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisville86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

This hotel is in an ideal spot. It's pretty basic and doesn't have a lot of frills or recent updates, however, it does have triple rooms. This proved to be a constant challenge for us while traveling through Germany, so we were happy to find one. Our room was small, but had three comfortable beds and totally did the trick. We noticed while walking through town that there are a ton of small hotels, all of which had available rooms, and many looked very cute. If you don't have specific needs like we did, you might want to stroll through the town and pick one that you like once you get there (if you aren't traveling in high season). This hotel had a nice breakfast, polite staff, reasonable rates, and we had a smooth stay, so we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipsterTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#17 of 45 in Rothenburg
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#36 of 45 in Rothenburg
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
#11 of 45 in Rothenburg
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
Hocher Hotel & Cafe
#44 of 45 in Rothenburg
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#22 of 45 in Rothenburg
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roter Hahn Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roter Hahn Rothenburg

Address: Obere Schmiedgasse 21, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $129 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roter Hahn Rothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Roter Hahn Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing