We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Gastehaus Eberlein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gastehaus Eberlein
Ranked #3 of 33 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed only one night on a stopover from Croatia on the way home. You get an extremely warm welcome, the owner helps out with tourist info, tips for walks and cycle paths in the area. The rooms ara spacious and quiet, the breakfast buffet is huge and delicious. I would certainly recommend this to others, especially for longer stays. Ideal if you travel on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a lovely bed and breakfast located about a five minute walk from the train station and a ten minute walk to the walls of the city. The owners are very kind and had wonderful suggestions about what to visit in the city. We also asked for a restaurant suggestion and they recommended an outstanding restaurant, Rothenburger Kartoffelstube, located just outside the walls of the city.

There is a computer in a room next to the lobby with free Internet access available for guests to use. We had a quiet room on the top level of the hotel. It was very nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet was large and had a variety of breads, cereals, and meats. The price of the room was very reasonable. We would stay here again if we ever returned to Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Easy walk to the old city. The staff is EXTREMELY helpful. My room was spacious for European standards. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. There is an honor fridge with drinks. Highly recommend this guest house. Much less expensive than staying within the walls.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gastehaus for one night on our road trip in Germany. The location is good for ppl who needs free parking although it can be a bit noisy but we dont complain considering the budget price. It's only 5-7 mins walk to Rothernburg town centre. The staff/owner was very helpful and
friendly, the room is simple but clean and cosy. The buffet breakfast is easily the best I ve seen during our trip. If you are after budget accomm and good value for money this is the one for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lihn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Situated outside the town walls, but easily walkable, this hotel is ideal for a stay. It is near a busy road in the day, but it quietens down at night, and the double glazing provides excellent soundproofing. The rooms are a good size and comfortable.

There is private parking available in front of the hotel, and plenty of side road parking which is safe.

Free WiFi is available. The owner also provides a drinks fridge - a sort of a help yourself bar - and trusts his guests to write down what they have taken. All quite reasonable. We ate in the evening at a nearby beer garden - the food was good and reasonably priced. Only the restaurant takes cards though and if it is not open, then you need to have a bit of cash to pay for the outside meal.

Breakfast the next morning was very good. Across the road is a gas station - prices seem to fluctuate quite a lot. We should have filled up on the Sunday as they shot up on Monday morning to take advantage of the laws of supply and demand!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Loved the location. Great for parking! A short walk to the old town. Great restaurant close by. The breakfast was lovely and the owners very welcoming. Would definately recommend. Rooms comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love_travelling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The two biggest things that stick out in my head about this hotel were the service and the breakfast. Everything else was nice (bedroom is a little bit small) and location isn't the best you could probably find, but its close enough-even with babies and it being december-to easily walk into the altstadt. The owner and his wife personally run this small B&B and go all out to make sure every detail is perfect-they were very warm. The breakfast was delicious, had quite a bit of variety and seemed to be all hand made and thought out. Christmas decorations were everywhere throughout the hotel. Very nice overall

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#21 of 45 in Rothenburg
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#24 of 45 in Rothenburg
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Eberlein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Eberlein

Address: Winterbachstr. 4, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: $91 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gastehaus Eberlein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing