We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
An Easy Walk with a Great View

It was so cool to walk the mid-evil wall around Rothenberg. The views of the city were beautiful... read more

Reviewed April 11, 2024
Traveler796081
,
Flower Mound, Texas
via mobile
42 towers for 2 hours by walk or from the Town Hall Tower for 5 minutes.

Most European cities cannot boast of preserved medieval walls and towers. Since as cities grew, the... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2023
VadimM67
,
Murmansk, Russia
Read all 2,424 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rothenburg
from $81.09
More Info
from $283.27
More Info
from $408.19
More Info
from $197.25
More Info
Reviews (2,424)
Filter reviews
2,424 results
Traveler rating
1,674
679
63
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,674
679
63
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watch your head early in the morning different perspective fun walk steep steps wall walk old city visiting rothenburg middle ages town plaques rooftops height fortifications
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 2,424 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2019 via mobile

Very walkable for folks six feet and under. Taller folks watch your head. Great views of the city both inside and outside the walls. Great way to get some exercise as well.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank toddd106
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 21, 2019

great views and history. I didn't take the tour, but from the sounds of it, you should. I walked the ramparts in 1977 at which time a local German man and his son stopped to talk with me; he was the one who pointed out that RODT owes its resurgence to the USA for paying for much of its restoration. An education for me.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 17, 2019 via mobile

The town wall is awesome! There are many access points to walk it, and many places to get great shots of it. We have visited the town twice and keep discovering more parts of the wall.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Dagmar33914
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

We went early in the morning so there were very few people which was great because we stopped so many times to take pictures. The views of the town were spectacular. We had been on the Nightwatchman's tour the night before (fabulous - thank-you Hans Georg Baumgartner)) and he had told us about the donation plaques mounted in the walls. It was really interesting to see plaques donated by people from all over the world. If you go to Rothenburg you cannot miss walking the wall.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank JillK1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

This wall encircles the town and is pretty high up! The steps are very steep so be careful! You can see the whole old town for the wall!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank JoshB999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews