We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
An Easy Walk with a Great View

It was so cool to walk the mid-evil wall around Rothenberg. The views of the city were beautiful... read more

Reviewed April 11, 2024
Traveler796081
,
Flower Mound, Texas
via mobile
42 towers for 2 hours by walk or from the Town Hall Tower for 5 minutes.

Most European cities cannot boast of preserved medieval walls and towers. Since as cities grew, the... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2023
VadimM67
,
Murmansk, Russia
Read all 2,424 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Rothenburg
from $81.09
More Info
from $283.27
More Info
from $408.19
More Info
from $197.25
More Info
Reviews (2,424)
Filter reviews
2,424 results
Traveler rating
1,674
679
63
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,674
679
63
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews watch your head early in the morning different perspective fun walk steep steps wall walk old city visiting rothenburg middle ages town plaques rooftops height fortifications
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 2,424 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2019

The old town walls are special for a walk in this cosy city. Free and you can do a small or longer part.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank stevenenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

I’ve done the walk in 2016 and 2019. They have repaired some of the railings, which is nice to see. It’s worthy of the 1.5 hrs it’ll take if you take your time. Not all of it is on the wall due to construction and houses, but probably over half is. It’s fun to see how people live today and might have in the past.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank courtj292
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

This is a diferent experience.
I consider some risk about walking up there with a very low protection, but taking care, it is a nice view from the city

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank mfngim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Very cool fortifications that go one for kilometers! I frankly have never seen anything quite like this -- a true medieval town with a wall around it! Excalibur could have been filmed here.

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

Great walk around most of the village. Great viewpoint at the top of the watch tower as well. Beautiful photos!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 458staceys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews