We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
80
94
34
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
94
34
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunderground garagegreat locationsmall terraceold towncute townrestaurants and shopsreception staffgerman hotelsthe ground floorbeautiful roomstayed here for one nightfirst floorparkingcityeurostreetgermany
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 217 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2015

Hotel Altes Brauhaus was one of the best places we stayed in during our 3 month European trip. The hotel perfectly complemented its location in the old town of Rothenberg. The arrival by car was a concern, knowing that there might be minimal street parking available. The courteous staff directed us to a rear street garage entry that led to a relatively spacious underground car park that had lift access to the hotel's ground floor and accommodation above. The floor to ceiling height of the garage is low, so make sure the top of the car is not loaded with bags, skiis etc. The reception staff were knowledgeable and helped us to find many shops, restaurants and sites that we would have otherwise missed.
The rooms might not be considered spacious but they are appropriate for inner town accommodation in a medieval precinct. The quality of the bathrooms was as good as we experienced elsewhere. The view from our room looked over the hidden courtyards within this city block. This beautiful, calming view would not be available to the average tourist walking around the streets. The ground floor dining room was well set out and offered a very good dining selection.
Altes Brauhaus is located within a 5 minute walk of the town square and restaurant district. Being a town where everything is within walking distance, its strategic location towards the centre of all of the wonderful attractions is to be appreciated. There was no disappointment in choosing this wonderful establishment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper west side overlook quiet rear courtyards that have views beyond the town
  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Warren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2015 via mobile

We had one night in Koblenz and the owner of our accommodation recommended this restaurant. We had Schnitzels and they were great value. There is a whole page of Schnitzel options in the menu. Generous serves. Busy but friendly and attentive service. A great night.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

When I found out that Altes was on the list of hotels that my dad has chosen to stay at when we did our tour of Bavaria, I was kinda expecting an average hotel.
Since the essence of this Old Town has been pretty much preserved, how much can they actually do up the place?
But I was surprised when we arrived. It had such a cozy, rustic yet modern feel, especially the breakfast room which I absolutely loved.
The rooms were quite large and we had the top floor, so absolutely loved the sloping attic feel of the roof and we could look out over the town(since most buildings were max 3-4 floors), so it was really amazing. I have to say though that the rooms were pretty basic, but for a city girl, I would say the room is actually good.
This hotel, though not along the straight road leading to the market square, the Old Town isn't that big actually and my family practically walked the whole town, took photos, had drinks and ice cream at a coffee house and walked back all under 1 and a half hours, legit. Slow walk at that.

Room Tip: If you want the roof/attic/slopping roof, you'll probably have to make an advanced request!
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lokekei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2015

Nice, spacious, clean rooms and bathrooms. We got lucky that our room was to the back side of the hotel had a great view to the city's church towers. Very friendly staff. It's a big hotel but doesn't look like it from the street front. It had underground parking for an added fee but that was truly a lifesaver. It is very well located to all sightseeing activities. Once we entered the walled city and parked our car in the hotel's underground garage we didn't need it till we packed up and left. Breakfast buffet was an added bonus. They charge £5,00 per person but it was a big spread to start your day right. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Awesome location to explore the walled city on foot.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mili M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2015

We spend a pleasant night, comfortable, friendly staff, very clean, beautiful terrace, for an additional fee we got parking. Breakfast was a full complete meal with everything you want to eat in Germany, fresh baked pretzels, hams and cheeses, fresh fruits, yams everything.

Room Tip: comfortable and relaxing
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marizanieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews