We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms with a view in the old building”
Review of Altes Brauhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altes Brauhaus
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Rothenburg is a magical place, and there is no better place to stay than the Altes Brauhaus. We were in the top floor of the old building: the room was large, included a comfortable sitting area as well as a bed, and had amazingly up to date plumbing wedged in among its ancient exposed beams. The views over the rooftops were spectacular in the snow. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, and the parking is excellent. the one drawback is the breakfast: the dining area is large and gorgeous (good place for a wedding), but there are very limited food options. Of course, they don't charge much for the breakfast, so I guess it's a question of you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the top floor of the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 197 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great room for my wife and I on our honeymoon. We lucked out and got a room on the top floor, looking out on the town and the surrounding hills -- it's quite a view. The room was nice but basic, with a no-nonsense bathroom, a sofa and chair, and (as European hotels usually are) two double beds pushed together to form a full/queen bed. Staff was very polite and friendly; you may luck out and meet the hotel's resident friendly dog.

The icing on the cake was a mini bag of Haribo gummy bears on the pillows!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We found this hotel by chance. We think that we made a good choice. The location was perfect, close to most important attractions of the city. The staff were friendly (Klaus) , the room was clean, spacious and quiet. Nice shower, confy beds and good breakfast. Internet is free, but you have to use close to the reception. They have parking lot (+11 Euros). I would stay again there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FNOBRAZIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great room for our family of four with children 13 & 15 certainly very large compared to others we experienced in France and Germany. Great location within the walls of the city, helpfull staff (owners?) all of whom spoke good English. Parking was convinent, secure and inexpensive by european standards. The breakfast for $5 euros was also excellent and served in a beautiful room.
Nothing but good things to say about this hotel and the city, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkphillip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

You can't go wrong in this hotel. Especially family friendly in the spacious quad room. Make sure to catch the Night Watchman tour too! Georg will keep you laughing all the way

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stolplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Wonderful hotel and staff. Room and bathroom roomy. Breakfast only 5 euro (typical foods, all good). Inside town walls and walking distance to everywhere. Good view from bedroom windows. Would recommend to a friend and would stay here again. Wished we had come here instead of Munich for 1 nights.
Hotel has parking and an elevator, Only problem is no a/c therefore windows are open and you hear church bells all evening and noise from people on street. Light sleepers might be bothered.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigglywiggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed overnight in the quad room. Setup reminded me of an old dorm room...4 beds, a tv, a closet, nightstands, couple of chairs, and a table all in an open space. Space was good though. Only problem was the room had a funny smell...maybe from a pet? Location was good. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
#9 of 45 in Rothenburg
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altes Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altes Brauhaus

Address: Wenggasse 24, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $129 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altes Brauhaus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Altes Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altes Brauhaus Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing