We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A real Gem”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a sweet hotel. The decor was fabulous. Our room was bright and spacious - our daughter loved the pink theme. The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and the food was spectacular - fit for foodies. The buffet breakfast was perfect, excellent selection. The location is convenient, right outside the wall. A short stroll from the main square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keena_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    81
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
42
161
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and the restaurant are definitely well furnished and some rooms have a special charme, the food is good and the breakfast buffet is very good. it's just outside the old town, 5-10 minutes walk from the main square. it is quite expensive compared to other hotels in town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hectortravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The decor in this hotel is unique and lovely. Everything is very tasteful. OUr room was beautifully furnished with the added bonus of a Nespresso coffee machine. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and were not disappointed by the meal. The wine waiter brought us wines to match the food and his suggestions were excellent. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weedkiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We arrived late in a Monday night and the bar manager insisted to carry our luggage to the room. As the bar would be closing in 10mi., he brought us in the room the drink of our choices. All else from there was just as pleasant, even though we stayed only one day in this hotel.
Location is very good, just 100 yards from one of the Rothenburg's gates. The property is likely post-war in age, as the whole areas was bombarded and heavily damaged. Yet, the building is very well conserved and the decor was very well done, with touches of modernity in places, with a pleasant overall atmosphere.
Breakfast was typical German excellence, with a careful staff, managed by good and thorough Frau. Cleanliness all around was spotless, even the gardens and outside floors were very clean and manicured.
This simple hotel was one of the many uplifting places we visited during our 10 days romantic vacation in Southern Germany.

Room Tip: As many older hotels in Europe, it pays to request a room in advance, and in the back of the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a beautiful property with a rather fancy feel to the lobby and restaurant. There are a small number of rooms, which are teeny-tiny but well-appointed. There is no air conditioning, but the windows open. The bathroom was comparatively good-sized and well laid-out and also had a window for air movement. Free Wi-Fi and parking onsite. The location is just outside the city's walls, which is about a 10 minute (gorgeous) walk to the city's center. The 8 euro breakfast was very nice, except there were no covers over the food plates, so the flies were all over the fish, meats, and cheeses (yuck). Seems like such a simple fix.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fadergator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksolt
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here recently for a few nights. The room had great promise but unfortunately did not deliver. The hotel has no fans and no a/c. Which normally would be fine, as our room had a ton of windows. However there is a restaurant directly under the window which is open until 11 or so (very loud), we were facing the street (car noise is fine), but there is a beer garden across the street, other hotels, and lots of people shouting and making noise until the early morning. So leaving the windows open was hard to do. when I closed the shutters to keep some of the light out in the morning, there was probably about an inch of dust per shutter slat. Also well the room is nicely laid out (shower is fantastic), my wife dropped something under the bed. Under the bed was filthy, i mean dust under there from the renaissance period i think.
Anyway, cute hotel, easy walking distance to town, but very dirty in the room, very noisy should you be unfortunate enough to be facing the street/restaurant. Upon check out the young lady at the front desk was however very nice and apologetic and did offer me a bottle of wine (which was very good) for our unfortunate experience. I would not recommend this hotel, nor would I stay here again. The breakfast though was 8 euros per person and very nice. It was a nice change to be able to order eggs different ways with crispy bacon. But other than the breakfast this hotel is a let down and in 2 weeks of staying at hotels across europe, it was the dirtiest and noisiest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRSK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had the great opportunity to stay at this hotel during our recent stay in Rothenburg. The staff was amazing! We had a warm greeting upon checking in, a tour of then villa, and were escorted to our rooms. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, and charming. There was plenty of space, the beds were comfortable, and my wife really appreciated the real hair dryer. Our breakfast was also great in the morning with cooked to order eggs and omelets, as well as the best hot chocolate on the trip. The location was perfect, just yards from the town wall. Plenty of free parking was a plus as well. The only down side was a weak wifi router. Overall outstanding quality and a great value. We will stay here again on our next visit without a doubt!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel

Property: Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 9, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing