We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Individuality with charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Middle England
Level Contributor
222 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Individuality with charm”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here for a couple of nights with colleagues last week; as I usually end up in faceless chain hotels, this was a rare pleasure.

The hotel is a short walk from the station, and is a 5 minute walk to the city walls, within which are a veritable plethora of places to shop and eat. Rothenburg is firmly on the tourist trail, with most of the sign posts in German and Japanese!

Staff are very friendly, and speak enough english to overcome my woeful German. I was allocated a room at the front of the hotel (#73), on the first floor, at which point I should have asked to change - the road outside is a busy one, and I like it quiet.

Not that it wasn't a nice room - parquet floors, shabby chic furniture - all in distressed white. The bathroom is open plan, with a wet room style shower - no bath. The room is all done out in pinks, reds and whites - including the excess of cushions on the bed. Shame about the pillow, which consisted of disappearing marshmallow.

They like chess at the Mittenmeier - it seems every room has a set, plus the one in reception. The room had a telly (no explanation of which channels were which though) and small fridge with a bottle of water. Also a coffee machine, no tea bags.

I know net curtains are passe, but they are also useful - one can open the curtains and get dressed without the neighbours getting an eyeful. One window looked straight onto the wash basin and shower, another two onto the bed, and yet another opposite the wardrobe. So I had to get washed and dressed before opening the shutters.

And the shutters - the slats are angled downwards, so when the sun comes up, it's straight in your face. Having the room on the road also means opening the windows is a no-no due to the noise.

There are 2 restaraunts - we ate in the posh one on our first night, on the terrace. Food is good, though not cheap. The menu is limited, and not much choice for a vegetarian. Anti-pasti was good - freshly grilled veg, cold meats and olives. I was warned there was only 1 piece of salmon left, and this turned out to be the runt of the litter - it was a rather small steak. The asparagus risotto was rather too frothy for me, with very little asparagus, or any other substance to it. Apparently the restaurant downstairs is the better option.

Breakfast was a better meal, with lots of freshly prepared choices. Though according to my colleague, who stays here regularly, the bread isnt fresh from the bakery, but cooked from frozen.

I shall be back, as it's easier to stay outside the town walls, but I'll be wanting a room facinf away from the road next time. But I'll take my earplugs and eye shades just in case!

Room Tip: Not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    79
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
42
157
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just located outside the walls of Gallows Gate,, this villa is just 15 mins walk away from the train station. Pretty on the exterior, and modern in design on the inside, with 2 chic restaurants, Villa Mittermeier is definitely worth the price if you are looking for a good night's sleep and classy dinner.

The suite that we had was a luxe with a cute bathtub right in the middle of the room.

However, the Nespresso coffee machine was unwashed and apparently unused for sometime. Hence, we were unable to make a cuppa nice coffee.

Service wise, was only so-so given that the people at our service were mostly students on training from the hotel mgt school in the old town.

Breakfast was tops with a wide variety of food to choose from. The lady (probably the supervisor) was very attentive and made sure all our needs are met.

Room Tip: Modern, chic decorated rooms in a pretty villa only a stone's throw from the old town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyInLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in March at the end of a long trip Western Europe. This place was an absolute stand out. The property is a beautiful old building just outside the old town walls - so a perfect place for if you have a car that needs parking and want to walk into the historical city. The hotel is very tastefully decorated, welcoming and full of charm. However, what makes this place a true 5 star of recognition is the amazing staff and caring attitude they had. We felt we were in good hands, and trusted them implicitly with recommendations, and helping us with some problems we had (nothing to do with the hotel or the town). The buffet breakfast was great, but unfortunately we were there on a Sunday, so the main restaurant was closed for dinner. The lounge and various niches one can hide in to read or check emails are very private and comfortable... in short, we felt spoilt, relaxed and totally at home. Wish we could have stayed another couple of nights, and next time we go to Germany, we certainly will.

Room Tip: The smaller and less expensive rooms really are quite small - so be prepared for that if you are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlusting_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel really had it all - the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was nicely decorated and comfortable, and the restaurant was outstanding. Location was great, too; outside the wall (so getting there and parking wasn't a hassle) but so close that walking into the scenic part of town was easy. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 624 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This was a great find! The website focuses more on the restaurant, as that is the more famous attraction, so I didn't have any great expectations about the room decor. Mainly I was just hoping for a decent place to sleep and was enticed by the fact that the room was under 90EUR a night including breakfast and free parking.
Thus I was very pleasantly surprised when my 'smart' room, as they call it, turned out to be a little gem! The room itself was small but perfectly formed, with queen sized bed, comfy individual duvets, small desk with coffeemaker and shelves with homey touches including books and sketches of the town. It felt more like staying a friend's spare room than a hotel. The size of the room might have been a problem with lots of luggage but I was only staying overnight so it was perfectly fine for me. The bathroom was very modern with a rain shower and totally spotless.
The included breakfast was your typical European spread of meats, cheeses, pastries, juice, coffee, etc plus eggs made to order. Everything was good quality and it was definitely enough for a good start to the day.
Staff were pleasant, chatty and more than happy to give directions and provide information about Rothenburg. Free parking was a bonus and we left our car after check out for the afternoon with no problems.
The location is great, right next to the city walls and a short walk to the lovely old town. This was a great deal and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inkwave17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is well known for its medieval, romantic scenery with tourists worldwide and a tourism hotspot in Germany. Nevertheless, most hotels in Rothenburg seem to have a little dusty atmosphere. The "Mittermeier" is different. The rooms combine a cozy, romantic flair with modern amenities and design.

The location is great, just a few steps from the first gate in to the old town of Rothenburg.

We stayed in a junior suite, which was not exactely huge, but of sufficient size. Very nice decoration, sitting corner with some books, coffee maker with tabs, minibar.

The bathroom (shower/sink) was open to the main room (but of course with a separate toilet). The bathroom designer unfortunately went overboard (sink design, shower design) and in several cases function follows design.

Free wireless LAN is available. You have to ask for a personal login/key.

Breakfast was appropriate, served in the gourmet restaurant of the house (Patron Christian Mittermeier is a renowned Star-Chef), but was unfortunately nothing out of the ordinary. In a hotel belonging to one of Germanies top chef's, one would hope for a little bit more imaginative start into the day.

Staff was very friendly, maybe a little overwhelmed with the sunday morning breakfast rush.

Generally: a nice find in Rothenburg, which we will visit again when travelling in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vienna-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Rothenburg is a must stop along the Romantic Road. This hotel is just outside the Old Town walls in Rothenburg. Within half a block you are inside the walls and exploring the old city. (Our car wasn't needed from arrival to departure.) The standard rooms are smaller, but newly renovated. (The suites near us looked very charming!) Our rate included an excellent breakfast that combined European continental with ordering off the grill. Free internet is provided.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel

Property: Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 9, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing