We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, rustic retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gaestehaus am Klosterhof
Ranked #8 of 33 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Staying at Gaesthaus am Klosterhof (and visiting Rotenburg ob der Tauber in general) was one of the top highlights of my trip to Germany. Mario and Hanne were exceptional in their service and have made a wonderful retreat and a chance for you to relax a little.

We stayed on the top floor of the guesthouse in what turned out to be a suite (foyer, bedroom, sitting room, bathroom, kitchenette). It also had two televisions (no english language programming). And we stayed (two people for two nights) for a sum that was unbelievably low.

The guesthouse is located across the street from Mario and Hanne's hotel and restaurant and I strongly recommend you eat there at least once. Fried camembert, homemade potato soup, a plate piled high of sausages and a couple of big beers make the evening very enjoyable.

Am I heaping on the praise? Sorry. It's just very excellent and I would go back at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 35 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

The place is a little bit hard to find and we only did it with the help of a local. It is located in old town and just beside the main hotel. The room (Business Suite) was big and comfortable. The bathroom is nice and has a bath tub. Internet signal was very poor and kept dropping. Don't expect too much kindness of the hotel owner or his wife. You are left on your own which can be good for who enjoy staying in such place instead a hotel small room. The kitchen is nice and bed was comfortable enough. Not very good pillows though.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tchello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in the adjacent suite guest house which was hugh with kitchen facilities, largest bathroom we had while in Germany, and a generous living area. It was hard to find at first as are most locations in Rothenburg but worth the hunt. We had dinner at the adjacent restaurant which was very convenient and is the same location for breakfast. The owners are very available and hardworking. Would recommend this a an excellent location to stay in old city Rothenburg.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandBNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in the older style, traditional room in the guest house. The place was decorated nicely, and the rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast is served at the Altfränkischen Weinstube which manages this guest house. The breakfast was delicious, and so we ate a wonderful dinner as well. Since parking can be difficult in Rothenburg, the owners were helpful in finding us a free parking place. This is an ideal location for staying in Rothenburg in terms of seeing the sights and having a quiet place to sleep. Good hiking along the river below the town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeekerofSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Rothenburg by itself is reason to go to this part of Germany, but when you stay in the plush apartments here you will truly feel like royalty. Owned by the same owners as Hotel Altfraenkische Weinstube, this two suite guest house is fantastic. Our suite had a living room, dining room, fully appointed kitchen and luxury bathroom on one floor. Then there were stairs at either end of the suite up to the bedrooms upstairs. One bedroom had a lush king bed and the other had two twin beds. Everything here was recently renovated but still maintains the medieval charm with all the wood and solid log construction. It is centrally located and just steps away from the Reichsstadt museum.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chazmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Appartement No. 5 Schlafen wie ein Kreuzritter, kein Durchgangsverkehr, Hund erlaubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jensemann1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#22 of 45 in Rothenburg
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gasthaus Alter Keller
Gasthaus Alter Keller
#4 of 33 in Rothenburg
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaestehaus am Klosterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus am Klosterhof

Address: Klingengasse 8., 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing