We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT hotel and wonderful restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gasthaus Alter Keller
Ranked #4 of 33 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT hotel and wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This is such a quaint hotel with excellent rooms and the restaurant has great Bavarian food. We slept so well that we overslept and missed the included breakfast by about an hour. When we went to check out the very nice owner asked if we wanted her to make us a breakfast- it was great! I highly recommend this hotel and restaurant! Great location, too!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic place, just a second of walking from the central square. Perfect choice for a couple or even for family. Restaurant served excellent Bavarian food. All the atmosphere like you are back to the 1300s.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zinershain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Alter Keller with two sets of our married friends. We stated in the double room and the other 2 sets stayed in the family room (2 doubles 1 bathroom). The pictures don't do this place justice- great location, beautiful rooms with gorgeous hard wood floors and eclectic furniture. Comfy, clean and convenient- couldnt ask for more.

Breakfast was delicious (they hand paint smiley faces on hard boiled eggs every morning), and all around great atmosphere. The owner, Marcus (I believe) was extraordinarily friendly, and their long time house guest, James, have amazing advice on local attractions.

Can't say enough nice things!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avon428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Gasthaus Alter Keller was an absolutely great choice and experience for our family. The building reportedly dates back to the 1300s, and retains a great deal of character. Renovations did not destroy its charm. The restaurant served excellent food, and the portions were large. They even had limited outdoor café-style seating. The proprietors were very personable and helpful. Rather than repeating my last statement, please read it again for emphasis! The Gasthaus has a great, central, location. Overall we enjoyed this Gasthaus and restaurant more than anyplace we stayed in Germany – including those with entirely too many stars. If you’d like to try a place with some character, some great food, and very personal service… this is a place to consider! Schöne Grüße aus Knoxville, TN!

Room Tip: We took rooms 4 and 5. They're on the uppermost floor and we had a great experience. Sensors ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
223 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

A quiet little square with bubbling fountain, no traffic sounds, just the sound of the city in the distance, fantastic food and hosts, authentic Germany. That is the Alter Keller. I have been eating here for years and now and so excited to be able to sleep there! They just opened a handful of rooms and I have already booked stays for June, July and September. Markus and Miriam are truly wonderful people and they work hard for their guests. You will feel at home at Alter Keller.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at Alter Keller Gasthaus for two nights (May 31-June 2). It was amazing, the rooms are brand new and wonderful. It's a small guest house and you feel like you are staying with your greatest friends. The breakfast was wonderful, and super fresh and delicious. The hospitality was great, always there to help and make sure we were taken care of. We also ate at the restaurant one night, and that is the true German dinner, great portions, great prices and super delicious. The location is superb, it is literally a one minute walk to the center square. Definitely planning on coming back for the Christmas Market!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Alter Keller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Alter Keller

Property: Gasthaus Alter Keller
Address: Alter Keller 8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated hotel offers rustic rooms with shower/wc, led tv located in the heart of the old town of rothenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gasthaus Alter Keller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing