We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner we had all trip!”

Hotel Restaurant Herrnschlosschen
Ranked #7 of 112 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best dinner we had all trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful room, welcoming staff and magnificent food! You must eat here when you come to Rothenburg ob der Tauber! We had the scallops and the oxtail appetizer. Then we had the lamb, wild boar, sea bass and duck entrees. All 4 were outstanding!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sbduvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    23
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Incredible experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

FANTASTIC stay! My wife and myself were treated as a king and queen. I would definitely recommend it as a "must do".

Helpful?
Thank aplatzoeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fine Cuisine for Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family enjoyed a delicious and beautifully presented dinner with a welcome departure from the typical traditional German classics. I had the eggplant appetizer which was light and refreshing followed by a deliciously seared tuna steak. My 11 year old son enjoyed the quail and steak courses as did my husband. Breads accompanying the meal were good and nice wine list to chose from.

Service was outstanding, well paced, and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Rather Expensive Option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stopped here based on TripAdvisor recommendations but I found the food to not match its price. We were treated to some starters (soup) from the chef, which was quite good. Unfortunately the choice for food was limited and I found my risotto mushy. Staff was quite friendly and the place is beautiful. Perhaps on another night I might have chosen better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, RL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place, one of the nicest meals ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

What a great meal we just had. Our server was very friendly and accommodating. The food was great. By far this is one of the best meals we have had in Germany and in the top five anywhere. I had a veal dish with vegtables and the veal was very tender and tasty. My partner had the sea bass and she loved that. The cappacino dessert (like a mouse) was wonderful. Highly sugget dining here for a fine dinner.

Helpful?
Thank HGBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Restaurant Herrnschlosschen also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Hotel Restaurant Herrnschlosschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing