We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in a beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed one night on a drive back to Uk.
We were welcomed by a very friendly gentleman who showed us to our room in a very pretty hotel.
Lovely room overlooking the main street, no noise at all. The wifi was very good and parking just in front of the hotel nice and safe.
Good breakfast and good value hotel right in the old town, very pretty place, plus right next door to the number 1 restaurant Burgkeller.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 255 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We arrived in Rothenburg late and initiallyparked outside the city walls to begin our search for a hotel. We first stopped at a hotel recommended by Rick Steve's, but were very disappointed in it. We decided to try Hotel Burg Gartenpalais, a short minute or so walk away and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is old on the outside and in the lobby, but the rooms have a modern look to them. The room itself was small and the view from the room windows was building roofs, but the room itself was comfortable. There was also a small sitting room between the beds and the bathroom. The included breakfast was a good typical European breakfast. For dinner, we ate at the hotel's restaurant. The food was good and the staff very pleasant. Additionally, we were lucky in that I was able to get one of a few free parking spaces directly across from the hotel. As Rothenburg is a small town, the hotel in but a few minutes from the town hall and main square.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 1 night. Very nice yard and traditional wood furniture with clean modern bathroom and TV. Close to city center. Quiet and beautiful yard. Free Wifi. Big parking place. Good breakfast. It's a wonderful stay in Rothenburg.
We would definitely go back someday.

BTW. I wouldn't be more thankful for their help on getting my lost bags back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YuWang_Nicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The BurgGartenpalais Hotel is a beautiful hotel - full of charater - in the centre of Rothenburg.
The present owners have done recent upgrades to all the rooms but have still maintained the splendour of the old building.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
Breakfast buffet had plenty of choice.
Free parking and wi-fi is available
Will definitely return to Rothenburg and the Burggartenpalais Hotel

Room Tip: Stayed in 1st floor room overlooking the front of the hotel and had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked this hotel base on reviews from trip advisor and we could not be any more pleased. The hotel was conveniently located but we really liked not being too close to a main street. The staff was so accomodating they even parked the car for us! There is a charming biergarten in the back and can we say how much we appreciated the elevator. We stayed in room 24 which was a family suite. 2 bedrooms with a bathroom. We were told this was an 800 year old building. The rooms retained some of that old world charm but we were glad it had moden, marble bathrooms! The complimentary breakfast was delicious. They do ask how you like your eggs and bring it to your table. Authentic German experience and we will stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mom23xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

we stayed 1 night. What a nice place! it's located couple of min from the central platz. Rooms are decent sized and bathrooms are stocked with everything you need includind sleepers.
Breakfast was good and there is a little restaurant for dinner. There is also a bakery on premises.
There is a parking in the back if you have a car.
They have elavator! Not that common in Bavaria
Our room was facing the street and there is some noise when Night Walk tour stops almost by the hotel.
Hotel is full of character and cheerful. You really feel that you are in Rothenburg while staying in this hotel

Room Tip: comfortable historical hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great hotel, great location, great city. Rothenber ob der Tauber is a uniquely preserved walled medieval city. It transports you back in time to walk the streets. The BurgGartenpalias Hotel fits right in to the time travel experience. The free German breakfast is not skimpy. The rooms are historically quaint but yet clean & modern. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 20 (which we stayed in) has the ornately painted green four poster bed which is depicted in pam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMontano1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
721 reviews
0 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
716 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel BurgGartenpalais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel BurgGartenpalais

Address: Herrngasse 26, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $118 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel BurgGartenpalais 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is not difficult to find a room for the nights in Rothenburg. One of the loveliest is to be found in the Herrngasse. It goes without saying that to live in a building from the Middle Ages has its attractions. Not luxurious, perhaps, but very comfortable, yet homely in the best sense. The atmosphere is welcoming and friendly, so that an enjoyable stay is assurd. One of the oldest nobleman`s house with individual and stylish interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel BurgGartenpalais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing