We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute place and good eats”

Italia Restaurant - Eiscafe
Ranked #31 of 111 Restaurants in Rothenburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“cute place and good eats”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

inexpensive...filled with Italians and great good and service. We dropped in here after passing it several times. In fact we enjoyed our anniversary dinner here and had a great time. It is a warm place with cute painting on the wall of Hollywood stars and the owner as well as delightful little bar. The menu is large and full of options from meats to pastas to salads and ice cream. The soup was warm and flavorful...the pizza was fabulous! Their "personal" pizzas are 11-12"! The pasta dishes were rich and flavorful. They were very attentive to our needs. Would very much recommend eating here if you are in town and have a hankering for some yummy Italian. Oh and they serve til 11:30 pm

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    72
    40
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wirtz, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ice cream heaven”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wonderful ice cream. Many selections. Too many choices. Kid friendly. Great afternoon stop away from the crowds.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Went here for a light lunch.

I had the rocket Salad (on english menu) rocket means arugula lettuce apparently. The balsamic vinegar it was topped with was very high quality. The slivers of cheese on top were good too.

My husband had the tomato soup, it was the second best tomato soup he had on our trip.

They had a large list of beers mostly bottles, several we hadn't heard of before.

They accept credit card, but only if your bill is over 20 euros, ours wasn't.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainbowbrite0884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Great Alternative To Bratwurst & Sauerkraut”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon the Eiscafe while trying to find something other than the regional specialties. Upon walking inside we found the place packed to the rafters, and had to wait about 15 minutes for a table to become free.

The food was delicious - I had gnocchi Bolognese washed down with a half litre of very tasty house red, and my wife had the lasagna. The food was tasty, the staff was friendly, and best of all, the price was very reasonable. I highly recommend Eiscafe, especially for an alternative to the local cuisine.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food in Rothenburg”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We tried this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews and also the location (it is right off of the main square). We were very impressed with the selection on the menu and the quality of food for what we paid. 1 appetizer, 2 main courses, a dessert and a bottle of wine was only 40 EUR. The food and service were excellent...you should try this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CANTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italia Restaurant - Eiscafe also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Italia Restaurant - Eiscafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing