We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel "Am Siebersturm"
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a very nice hotel located in an area away from the noise of the town. The rooms are small as is common in this type of hotel and there is no AC which is also common. I would highly recommend this hotel because it is clean, well maintained, and the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. I travel a lot and I believe the beds in this hotel are the most comfortable I've ever found. If you are looking for a clean hotel with a friendly staff in a convienient part of town at a good price this is the one for you!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had three rooms at this hotel, three couples traveling together.
The heater in room number 6 did not work. The owner kept telling us that it
was OK, so we finally asked him to come to the room and he found out that
it was not working. Then he questioned "who needs a heater in the bathroom?"
(The temperature outside was 27 degrees F and the room was very cold).
So after much discussion, he agreed to fix the problem.
That night, at about midnight, one of the couples (Room 2) discovered they had a
large number of bed bugs in their bed. We actually took pictures of the bugs, they
were both large ones and some small, but they were everywhere.
Since there was no one in reception, we left a note and left the hotel. So we had to drive
for about two hours (It was very foggy) to Frankfurt, where we had reservations for the
following night. We asked for three rooms, paying an extra night of course, but they
did not let us have the rooms until 8.30 a.m, so we ended up spending several hours
sitting in the car.
When we called the hotel manager, he denied there were any bugs, until we told him we
had taken pictures. Then he said he would charge us for all three rooms, because we did
not notify him when it happenned (We did not have his number and there was no one in
reception, so how could we call him?). Then he said, well, then we should have sent him an e-mail. Again, we did not have his electronic address and how was he going to know there
was an e-mail at that time.
So finally he said he may not charge us for one room, but we would have to pay for the other
two. We explained that all three couples were traveling together, but he continued to refuse
giving us credit.
If you love bed bugs and lousy service, stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hector B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a very quaint family owned hotel in a very romantic setting. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. They had our table ready for breakfast, yet they didn't even know if we were coming for breakfast. The rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated. The building is historic with low ceilings, which adds to the ambiance of the walled city, and the location was perfect. It was perfect for us. We loved it and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I believe every room has a great view, but we stayed on the 2nd floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Fanstastic hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Great room with views over the Tauber valley. We will be coming back at some point in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick88Highline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had a car break-down and could not get to the hotel by the suggested check-in deadline. Neither could we contact the hotel desk right away as we were stranded for most of the day. When we finally contacted the owner that we would be running late by about two hours, he did not even bother to do anything to let us in after hours. He could think of something. But he did not want to do anything. He just said that he was going home, and that's that.
Our experience has been that there was always somebody in a hotel to cover for emergencies. It appears that in this "hotel" the owner is the only person and he leaves the premises at 10 pm sharp and is unwilling to make any concessions for unforeseen events beyond anybody's control. The guy was rude to the point of refusing even to give us at least a refund for breakfast that we were not going to use and making silly suggestion to get a compensation from Hertz for the hotel charges as if Hertz was somehow deliberately responsible for car problems.
I will never stay in that "hotel". If you have rich program (and who on a European vacation does not) and have a reasonable chance of being late for check-in for whatever reason, my honest recommendation is avoid that place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank zhuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

If it weren't for the fact that the rooms are a bit old-fashioned and I bashed my head on the low ceiling of the stairs (I'm 5'10", 5'9" and below needn't even duck), I'd have given this hotel 5 out of 5. The shower was good, the rooms were clean, the location was excellent and the hotel coped seamlessly with my request for non-feather bedding. It was nice and quiet in the room too - although the extremely noise-sensitive should be warned that loud fellow guests or bad luck with the traffic or church bells might have a big impact.

Room Tip: If you come by car, reserve the parking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndigoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The hotel is a short 5-10 minute walk uphill from the old town center. It is about 20 minutes from the train station. The owner was reasonably pleasant, and provided for free wi-fi in town. The room was clean, comfortable, and worth the price. Rothenburg is a very small town, so it was very easy to get from one end of town to another.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dannymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#24 of 45 in Rothenburg
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#36 of 45 in Rothenburg
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
#16 of 45 in Rothenburg
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alter Ritter
Hotel Alter Ritter
#41 of 45 in Rothenburg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel "Am Siebersturm"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel "Am Siebersturm"

Address: Spitalgasse 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $75 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel "Am Siebersturm" 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in the heart of the medieval town Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The hotel has a wonderfull view to the valley. Run by family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel "Am Siebersturm" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing