We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel "Am Siebersturm"
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Burke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a very quaint family owned hotel in a very romantic setting. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. They had our table ready for breakfast, yet they didn't even know if we were coming for breakfast. The rooms were very clean and tastefully decorated. The building is historic with low ceilings, which adds to the ambiance of the walled city, and the location was perfect. It was perfect for us. We loved it and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I believe every room has a great view, but we stayed on the 2nd floor facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    43
    29
    6
    13
See reviews for
32
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stowmarket
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Fanstastic hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Great room with views over the Tauber valley. We will be coming back at some point in the future!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick88Highline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had a car break-down and could not get to the hotel by the suggested check-in deadline. Neither could we contact the hotel desk right away as we were stranded for most of the day. When we finally contacted the owner that we would be running late by about two hours, he did not even bother to do anything to let us in after hours. He could think of something. But he did not want to do anything. He just said that he was going home, and that's that.
Our experience has been that there was always somebody in a hotel to cover for emergencies. It appears that in this "hotel" the owner is the only person and he leaves the premises at 10 pm sharp and is unwilling to make any concessions for unforeseen events beyond anybody's control. The guy was rude to the point of refusing even to give us at least a refund for breakfast that we were not going to use and making silly suggestion to get a compensation from Hertz for the hotel charges as if Hertz was somehow deliberately responsible for car problems.
I will never stay in that "hotel". If you have rich program (and who on a European vacation does not) and have a reasonable chance of being late for check-in for whatever reason, my honest recommendation is avoid that place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zhuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothenburg hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

If it weren't for the fact that the rooms are a bit old-fashioned and I bashed my head on the low ceiling of the stairs (I'm 5'10", 5'9" and below needn't even duck), I'd have given this hotel 5 out of 5. The shower was good, the rooms were clean, the location was excellent and the hotel coped seamlessly with my request for non-feather bedding. It was nice and quiet in the room too - although the extremely noise-sensitive should be warned that loud fellow guests or bad luck with the traffic or church bells might have a big impact.

Room Tip: If you come by car, reserve the parking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndigoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The hotel is a short 5-10 minute walk uphill from the old town center. It is about 20 minutes from the train station. The owner was reasonably pleasant, and provided for free wi-fi in town. The room was clean, comfortable, and worth the price. Rothenburg is a very small town, so it was very easy to get from one end of town to another.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1dannymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

The rude owner tried to convince us that we had booked a double room, not a room with a double bed. He became quite aggressive and confrontational when we tried to show him our confirmation that we had a double bed, and that the hotels.com website specifically said "Double Bed only" in the room description. He maintained that we had only booked a double room with a Tauber Valley View, despite the fact that such a room type doesn't even exist on the hotel's own website. We got stiffed with a twin bed room for the first night, and then the next day he tried to stiff us with a double bed room WITHOUT a view. It's possible that there was a mistake on hotels.com regarding the room description, but we think it's more likely that the owner was trying to stiff us given his rudeness and completely unprofessional attitude. At one point he tried to convince us to check out and find another hotel, which we weren't willing to do since we had already paid in advance for the room. It was only after I mentioned that we would be writing a negative review of his hotel that he changed his tune, and later told us that we were "absolutely right" regarding our concerns. Unfortunately for him it was too little, too late.

On a positive note, hotels.com did refund us the difference in price between the two rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctorLogistics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a touring holiday. The location is good inside the walls of the town and we were able to park opposite. However the rooms and general decor all needs updating. The owner was friendly. Breakfast was the usual continental fare, all fresh but not a huge amount of choice. I am not sure that I would stay here again if I returned to the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getupandgotoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Hotel Cafe Uhl
#30 of 45 in Rothenburg
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
#32 of 45 in Rothenburg
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#31 of 45 in Rothenburg
208 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel "Am Siebersturm"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel "Am Siebersturm"

Property: Hotel "Am Siebersturm"
Address: Spitalgasse 6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel "Am Siebersturm" 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel in the heart of the medieval town Rothenburg ob der Tauber. The hotel has a wonderfull view to the valley. Run by family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel "Am Siebersturm" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing