We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location while visiting Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Located in the centre of the town.
We choose this hotel because of its central location and because it was decorated in a trditional fashion. We stayed in the newer half of the hotel, which had very good sized room, very well kept, the bath room was bright and clean.
Check in was easy, assisted by a very pleasent person on the desk. Breakfast had a good selection to choose from. All staff were very pleasent
I would stay at this hotel again and would recomend it to my friends.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be of good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hewlett77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    217
    81
    20
    5
See reviews for
145
208
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
282 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We selected the hotel's restaurant for lunch and found it to be decorated in a very traditional fashion, with the character one would expect in this part of the country. The waitress was very helpful and attentive, but the menu selection and food preparation were generic German fare. Their bratwurst and sauerkraut, with black bread, was typical but not much different from bratwurst one can buy from a vendor in the Marktplatz. The pfannenkuchen ordered came out different from each other; one dish was similar to a folded crepe stuffed with pumpkin (a seasonal product), while the other dish was more similar to a pizza with the pfannenkuchen baked. The schnitzel portion was robust and anyone who orders this meal will not leave the table hungry. But, overall, there are several other restaurants in the immediate vicinity and, of course, within the walled city that offer more interesting German food at similar prices.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LopingianTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The parking is in back. There are several areas to park, and if its raining, try not to park in the area that in not paved. It can get muddy. The hotel is separated into two buildings. There is an older one and newer one. The older one is the one I stayed in, and it is fine. The room was big enough for two beds pushed together to form a queen sized type bed, a small table with 2 chairs, and a crib. Shower only. There are stairs with no elevator, so prepare for that. I didnt have an issue. The location is fine. Its a short walk to the old part of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reprobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed one night in September, 2012. Check in was easy and pleasant, the room was clean and well-ventilated with several windows that opened, and the bathroom was bright and clean. breakfast was in their other building next door, and was quite good. The hotel is located just outside the city wall. Did not drive, but noticed ample parking was available. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have plenty of ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived without reservations and were accommodated right away. Our party included a three year old and our special needs were met nicely. The location is perfect to visit Rothenburg which provided free parking for our car since it was right outside the old city. We were gladly given directions to a playground which was located right next to the hotel. The breakfast was wonderful and the service was friendly and very efficient. The hotel staff directed us to special events during our stay and restaurant recommendations.

Room Tip: don;t miss breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamagoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Nice, clean and quiet room. Free internet and parking. We just walked up to this hotel late in the evening and got a good rate of 80E. Breakfast was lovely and the room was a nice sized corner room. Great location right outside of the city wall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KipRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon tour through Germany. We had booked a Superior room was was a little disappointed to find out it was just a plain room. Im worried what the room would have been like had we not booked a superior room! Another issue we had was that there was a step down going into the bathroom, and both my husband and I stubbed our toes walking out of the bathroom trying to get used to it. The breakfast was included with the room but it was pretty small and basic. It is in the restaurant located two buildings down from the hotel. My husband stopped in there one night to see if he could purchase a bottle of wine to take to the room with us. 3 people walked past him and nobody even acknowleged him. However, it was clean and the HOTEL staff were extremely friendly. It was in a great location right next to the old town and perfect for anyone who is traveling by foot. It was about a 10-15 minute walk to the train station. Plus there was a gas station fairly close for snacks or when you need a bottle of wine and can't get it from the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOJO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Property: Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 6+10, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Rappen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing