We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for visiting Rothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five nights as part of a group travelling with Alfa Travel. The hotel room was quite large although some of our companions said that they had small rooms. Plenty of storage space, very clean, windows that could be opened which was much needed as the weather was very hot day and night, we heard no noise at all, our room was at the back of the hotel which may have helped. Bathroom very clean and shower area was spacious, toilertries included each day. Beds very comfortable. Beer garden was very large and also open to non-residents. Plenty of choice if you wanted lunch there. Prices for food and drinks same as in the town and other German towns that we visited so at least you didn't feel ripped off. Plenty of choice for breakfast so nobody should go hungry, bread rolls, cheeses, cold meats, cereals, fruit etc. Evening meals were included as part of our package and they were very good, some nights service was a bit slow but on those nights there were 4 coach groups in the hotel so it was to be expected. Staff that we met were very friendly and spoke good English. There is a balcony on the first floor where you can smoke or just sit in the sun, we did notice that one of the bedrooms looks out onto this balcony so if you have that room you would probably have to keep the windows shut during the day if you do not like smokers. Great position for visiting Rothenburg as you are right in the area of the Old Town.

Room Tip: We had room 276 which was large and very quiet at night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizMarcWirralEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 533 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

There are three separate buildings comprising this hotel. We were in the main hotel building, meals were served in the gasthouse. Breakfast was quite good, but the layout of the buffet caused congestion. Staff in the hotel were friendly and pleasant. However, our bedroom lacked some amenities taken for granted now, when travelling. There was no mini-bar or fridge in our room. We are travelling with medication which has to be kept refrigerated - so we had to bring our car fridge to the room. There was no safe in the bedroom and nowhere to put things in the shower room. We ate in the restaurant the first evening. I asked for a rare steak and got a rare steak, however it was barely luke warm, It was taken away and brought back hot, but the texture of the meat had changed and I was unable to eat it.

Room Tip: If you think it might rain, ask for a room in the gasthaus, where breakfast is served.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greens222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our second hotel on our German driving holiday, we chose this for the free parking, breakfast, wifi and the location right next to the walls of the city. We had a room in the annexe which was large, clean and well equipped with a heated towel rail for drying the washing BUT rooms in the annexe are subject to noisy school bells, ALL NIGHT, and early in the morning there are very noisy coaches and bin lorries right below the window so earplugs might be advisable. The toiletries are scant and we should have asked for extra pillows. Most of the staff spoke English but were a little distant in reception and there was good wireless internet. There is plenty of free car parking behind the hotel and it is right beside the Galgentor so an easy walk into the Altstadt. Breakfast was a good spread of cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit, cereals and bread but if you are in the annexe it is a long way to the breakfast room, especially if it is raining! For an evening snack the pancakes in the restaurant are well worth a try! Rothenburg is an absolutely delightful place to visit and of the many restaurants can thoroughly recommend the “Ratsstube” on the main square.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are noisy - main building might be better.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rottidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is an older hotel that has two parts. We stayed in the older part. There were 4 of us (included two older children) and our room was very large. Breakfast was included and it was pretty good (standard). The location is excellent. Right outside the wall of the city and a short walk from the train station. The beer garden at the hotel was just okay. The wifi didn't work in our room; just the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncmom51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

There are 2 parts to Rappen - the hotel and the gasthof. we stayed at the gasthof as we were driving th Romantic Road and it looked like a good place to stay. They had a double room available for 90 euros (with breakfast) so we took it.
The lift was a bonus. the gasthof is like a big old pub. We had a small room with a tiny tv set 7ft up the wall, so not the easiest to watch. the double bed is two mattresses an two duvets (as are a lot of European rooms). The mattresses were good and firm, but the pillows were too thin for us (again pretty common). I did have a concern that we had 2 openable windows that opened onto a balcony. the balcony was accessed by a door in the corridor so anyone in the hotel had access to it. I wouldn't have bee impressed with people sitting smoing or being noisy just outside the window. Luckily it rained so we didn't get anything like that. Also the 2 windows can be opened in a lock position, but as they were side by side, if even only one was open slightly it would be easy for anyone on the balcony to put their hand in and fully open the other window and climb or reach in. So we had to keep the windows shut whilst we were out. The room also overlooked a large beer garden which could be really noisy in the summer, but looked really nice for a beer.
the breakfast was average and was pretty busy as there was a coach party and a large cycling group in. Clean and good service though.
We arrived on a motorbike and were allowed to park it in a locked large garage that had lots of bicycles in it.
We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as we were only there one night and wanted to eat in the town.
The best thing about the hotel was the proximity to the walled town- a 30 second walk. The town is amazing and I'd love to go back and see it again.
We stayed in 10 hotels and b&bs this trip and i'm comparing this to the others we've stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hondabird007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

One night in hotel .... the room was well equipped but lacked any charm. Beds very comfy, everything clean and good space. It's in an excellent location and free parking which was a boon. Overall a good value. Service a little brusque..... Since they don't start serving til 7am we paid for breakfast but got none due to our 6am departure. We did get good advice on driving to Stuttgart the next day. Rote burg is charming and deserves a whole day to visit and don't miss the night watchman tour. Kinda hokey but really fun.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chgoclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I'm often in Rothenburg o.d.T. for work and this time I've sleep in Rappen.
My room was in the new part of the hotel (a building similar to a barrack esternally but reallly good and formal inside); room was really big with twing bed a Tv and so on and the bath were clean.

Room was really good and wireless work well (just ask the activation at the reservation desk for free); this building is 200 mt far from the hotel restourant, so it's ok to walk if the weather is good but it's not so confortable if it's raining or snowing.

Breakfast is good but you could have a better breakfast in other hotel (like Merian); in short not a bad hotel but also not a hotel to remember or a hotel to remeber.

I haven't use the spa, maybe some day in future...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
688 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
590 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 6+10, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $75 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Rappen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing