We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate experience ruined stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Garni Hornburg
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unfortunate experience ruined stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Many people would enjoy staying at this hotel, so I hate to give it an average rating. I'm giving it three stars because the owners eventually resolved one of the issues, otherwise I'm afraid my rating would be even lower. On this trip, my family wanted beautiful, clean rooms, a great breakfast, convenient parking, and friendly people to help us if we needed it. We received all those things with this choice of hotel, and if it would have ended there we would have given it a five star rating. However, the owner went into our room when the "do not disturb" sign was on the door, therefore ruining the feeling of privacy that we value so highly. When we asked why this occurred, the owner stated she had a right to do so because it is a "private family home" and she needed to check things. She didn't clean or anything; she just looked around. This was the first morning of our stay, so it was not as if we had been in the room three or four days making a huge mess. We put the sign on the door because we truly did not need anything or want anyone there.

I personally enjoy vacations where my family and I can go about our own business; however, I recognize that not everyone feels that way. For us, the incident and the resulting conversations made us uncomfortable and conspicuous, and even though we tried to resume our holiday, we ended up wanting to leave a day early. At this point, the second owner refused to let us out of the contract and was going to make us pay for the last day unless he could rent the room to someone else at the last minute. More conversations followed, and perhaps because it was Christmas time, they ended up allowing us to leave without having to pay for the final day. That healed some of the hurt feelings, and for that we can give three stars to the rating. Just be aware, this is a small place--a bed-and-breakfast rather than a hotel--so if something goes "wrong" you will definitely feel set apart from other guests and the atmosphere will be awkward. But if everything goes "right" you will probably love staying here, hence all the excellent ratings.

In the future, our suggestion would be for the owners to establish a policy in writing where they inform their guests that the rooms "MUST" be entered between such-and-such hours every day, to open windows, turn off lights, check for towels, etc. And perhaps they should mention to guests that any requests are best made before 16:00 when their extra help leaves the premises (Their disregard for the sign stems partially from the fact that they don't want surprise requests during inconvenient hours, so they need to "check" what you're doing to anticipate needs). Bottom line: If you enjoy getting to know people and feeling like you're part of a big family, this beautiful house is the place for you. However, if you want to be there for the sole purpose of having private family time with your own family and not socializing, and if you see yourself as paying for rooms you can call your own for the time of your stay, you might feel uncomfortable in a "family house."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frothnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    49
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
79
193
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have been coming to Rothenburg for 10 years. Every year we stay at Hotel-Gerni Hornburg, and every year we are more impressed than we were with the stay the year before. The breakfast is the typical German breakfast but also has fresh fruit. The rooms are each decorated differently but perfect for a B&B. The rooms are clean, the owners EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. Free interent and free parking. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPoppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have been to Rothenburg on many occasions and once we found this gem we won't stay anywhere else. We found this small hotel years ago before Rick Steve's was including it in his book and now have to make sure we reserve in plenty of time. The hotel is in a wonderful old mansion just outside the city walls which makes it a perfect location-close to everything but away from the bus loads of tourists that invade the city during the day.

Although this hotel has unique, comfortable, and updated rooms you feel as if you are staying in someone's home. The hotel is operated by a lovely couple and they make your stay! Martin and Gabriele are fabulous hosts. They are ready with all the information you need to get the most out of your stay while giving you all the privacy you desire.

They also have the most delightful dog (Buddy) that is there to pet if you are an animal person or stays out of the way if you are not. The breakfast is varied and filling and Martin is there to provide anything you need.

We have stayed here in the summer and made use of the grounds which include a outdoor table and chairs to enjoy a beverage and the weather or in the winter to look out the windows of our room while we take a break from the sights (Christmas Market) to enjoy people watching or the comfortable public seating areas to read a book or catch up back home with the free wifi.

We can't say enough about this great hotel or the fabulous hosts. You cannot go wrong and we would recommend you book more than one night and reserve early so you don't miss out on this experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel is in a nice old mansion just outside the walls. Parking is close and free. The room was large with a good sitting area by the windows. Bathroom was modern.

The owners and the canine manager were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good as well as the service. Appreciated the free internet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasCaboose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is run by a lovely, friendly couple (and their friendly dog Buddy)! The building itself is very grand, even if the decor is a bit outdated. The location just outside the walls means it's very quiet at night but you can access the town in minutes. Parking was no problem - free and close by. Breakfast was filling and we could do without lunch as a result. Good value for the money. I would have liked a soap dispenser at the sink and in the shower. Other than that, no negatives. I would go back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Followed Rick Steve's advice to spend the night in Rothenburg, so we experience the town once the tourist busses had left for the day. This is a great old hotel very close to the city wall. We had a room on the top floor -- actually a suite of rooms. Two bedrooms, a bath, and a WC. Clean, convenient, and cute. Very friendly, helpful service. Excellent breakfast. A little hard to find but well worth the effort. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnHerOwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is located just outside of the Old Town wall so is very well positioned. There is no parking in the grounds but public parking just across the pedestrian walkway. Some areas are free. You will probably want to carry bags over the cobblestones and pray it doesn't rain. The hotel is an old mansion with an interesting history. I loved the architecture inside and out and would loved to have explored it and seen the original layout. It has a beautiful staircase which is just as well as there is no lift. Our room was on the first floor and led off a communal sitting room with a fully stocked bar frig of beverages to purchase. There was also an internet station. Our room was very large and the décor was out dated but it was clean. No air con but a safety deposit box. We had a view of the Old Town Wall. Our bed was in a recess between the toilet on one side and the bathroom on the other. This did not make for a good night's sleep as one woke the other when needing to use the toilet. Not nice for my husband sleeping with his head a metre from the toilet door. Why the bed wasn't on the other side of the room and the desk etc in this recess is beyond me. The bedding was not up to what I would call average and the pillows had a tendancy to smother you they were so soft and offered no support. So we did not sleep well here. We found the owner absolutely delightful, quite an endearing character and did not encounter the grouch mentioned here in other reviews. Buddy, the gorgeous dog with a beautiful nature was a bonus for those of us who were a long way from home and missing their animals. I was fascinated by the bones of this old mansion and couldn't help thinking with some tasteful decorating how glorious it could be. It was a great location and we could pop in out of the old town day and night. Rothenburg is a must see town in Germany.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here check the bed in your room isn't lodged between the toilet and bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaH628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Garni Hornburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Garni Hornburg

Property: Hotel-Garni Hornburg
Address: Hornburgweg 28 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#7 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Garni Hornburg 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Garni Hornburg is a individual hotel which offers you ten charming and tastefully decorated rooms with modern comfort like Cable-Television, radio etc. All rooms are NON-SMOKING rooms! Quiet, central location. Official German Hotel-Classification is 3*. Special service is a Internet Terminal just for the use of our guests without charge as well as free of charge WiFi in all areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Garni Hornburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Garni Hornburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Garni Hornburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing