We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Wonderful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel-Garni Hornburg
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hotel Hornburg was a great place for us to stay while we visited Rothenburg. It is right outside the walled city and is situated on a large property with room to relax outside. The owners, Martin and Gabrielle were cheery, helpful and very pleasant. We had a nice room overlooking the walled city which was very nice. My only hesitation in this hotel is the eclectic and "tacky" decorating the rooms. However, this was easy to overlook because of the great service and location of the hotel. The breakfast in the morning was outstanding with various breads, cheeses, cold meats, yogurt, fresh fruit salad (made that morning), granola, sweets, boiled eggs (that Martin put a happy face on) etc. A great way to start the day! I would definitely stay at the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 336 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

A very large, nice room, both owners were very friendly and inviting. Right outside of the main gate to town, easy parking. I wish we had spent more than one day here. Both of the owners spoke perfect English, which was great!

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, right next to the lobby and breakfast area, this old place has very solid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My new husband and I had trip to Bavaria planned for two years and had previously booked the hotel in 2011 and 2012. Finally, on our honeymoon, we were successful in getting to Germany. The hotel is absolutely charming and the hosts Martin and Gaby, along with beautiful Golden Retriever, Buddy, created the most hospitable stay for us. Wifi excellent and the house itself is magical. Beautiful details create a welcoming atmosphere and enhance the magic feel of the town. We had been " warned" that a four day festival, MeisterStrunck" would be in full swing during our stay and Gaby and Martin ensured that we had the requisite wristbands to come and go into and back from the center of town. The wonderful atmosphere including locals in medieval dress was very enjoyable and the residents were very welcoming to my husband and me. While we were concerned that the frivolity may be disruptive during our stay, the actuality was just the opposite. We joined the local townspeople and truly found the experience to be totally joyful. Just steps from the hotel on the Saturday night, we ended up dancing like we lived there until midnight! Local residents were very welcoming, the night was beautiful and we were no longer "tourists". The hotel was just so wonderfully centered for enjoying this gorgeous medieval town. Every time we look at the lovely small watercolor prints we bought in town, we remember how absolutely welcomed we felt during our stay! Thank you Martin, Gaby and Buddy!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MercyMe94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fiance and I took the in-laws to Rothenburg ob der Tauber as a stop along the Romantic Road and boy it did it have the perfect value and location just outside the city wall! Beautiful garden area to lounge in, the most wonderful and friendly hospitality and delightful breakfast. They even shared information about where you catch the city tours, great restaurant recommendations and showed the entrance to the city wall, just minutes walk from the front door. The parking was free and the rooms were so cozy and clean and the beds were the most comfortable we have had across Bavaria, yay! The in-laws claimed how much they loved it and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: No lift, but the second and third floor suites have lots of sunlight, and even a sunroom/deck on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandyce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We are nearing the end of a lovely journey through Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. We have stayed in many places, and have come to know exactly what we want in a hotel stay - a comfortable bed, enough space to relax, fast wireless internet, free parking, and a good breakfast. This place delivers on all. We stayed in a comfort double for two nights, as that was what was available when I made my last minute booking (early June and living day-to-day ...). Our room was HUGE and included a large sofa, coffee table, and a sun ROOM with large windows that slide open. My gosh, it was so nice, we just wanted to hang out in our room! Rather than a mini-bar, there is a glass was a glass-front fridge with drinks just outside our door, which we could use and just note what we had taken. There were also snacks.
The wireless internet was FAST. Pictures updated nearly instantly on Photostream, we called home on Skype and Facetime, and both were flawless. Parking was near and free. This property is on the edge of the parking lot right by the main gate to the old city. This means you stay and park right by the entrance, never have to drive the narrow, cobblestone streets, can easily come and go during the day or night, can escape the tour bus crowds of mid-day, and can slip back in for dinner and the Night Watchman's tour in the evening.
The bed must have been comfortable, because I don't even remember the nights. I was out light a light with the cool late spring crisp air coming in through the open windows. Heavenly!
Breakfast was lovely. The breakfast rooms are very cute and my soft boiled egg was cooked perfectly to order. Yum! Everyone was so welcoming and wonderful. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else, and I will surely be back!
The only frustration was the bathroom, which was very nice, but the shower design makes taking a shower very difficult to manage without getting water all over the floor. Two bath mats are provided, likely because of this issue. I took a bath both mornings, which I prefer, and used the shower head to carefully rinse my hair, but my husband struggled with the showering both days.
All in all a great stay and I would recommend it highly for your visit to Rothenburg!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to splurge on the comfort double ... you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckmielke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Martin your host will have you smiling every morning over a delicious breakfast and a nice pot of coffee. The lovely home is very comfortable and in a prime quiet location.Martin can tell you about the Nightwatchman Tour and thee tasty restaurants which we really enjoyed. It is beautiful here. Martin if you read this we thank you again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shawnmurphy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our fourth time we have stayed on our trip to Rothenburg and it was again superb! The location and parking is so convenient to the Old Town. The hotel is situated in a quiet and secure area. The rooms are spacious, clean and each room has its own theme...not cookie cutter rooms! The beds are SO comfortable. Breakfast is wonderful! We were immediately greeted upon entry and made to feel at home. Thank you to Gabriele and Martin (and Buddy!) for the warm hospitality!

Room Tip: The rooms look exactly like the pictures on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Garni Hornburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Garni Hornburg

Address: Hornburgweg 28 | Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#7 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $92 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Garni Hornburg 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Garni Hornburg is a individual hotel which offers you ten charming and tastefully decorated rooms with modern comfort like Cable-Television, radio etc. All rooms are NON-SMOKING rooms! Quiet, central location. Official German Hotel-Classification is 3*. Special service is a Internet Terminal just for the use of our guests without charge as well as free of charge WiFi in all areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Garni Hornburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Garni Hornburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Garni Hornburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing