We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel-Garni Hornburg
Nearby Hotels
$325
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Klosterstueble(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
269
53
11
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
53
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboiled eggsstained glass windowshonor systemcity parkingold housefirst floorwalled cityold cityprivate bathroomper daybreadvisiting rothenburgeach morningstayed longerno liftbreakfast was includedwalls
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 343 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is charming, and the location can't be beat. The proximity to the train station and the city walls is excellent. Breakfast was very good, and served beautifully in a comfortable and homey dining room.
When I had a problem with a credit card that necessitated several phone calls, the staff was extremely helpful to me in negotiating the international calls. The price of this hotel is very reasonable for the location and quality.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We fell in love with this hotel (from the outside) when we parked at the opposite car park a couple of years a go.
Finally, we got the chance to stay 2 nights at the Hotel Hornburg when we travelled with our friends. We were not disappointed. Our rooms were comfortable and clean with great views.
We appreciated the friendly service and the excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Room #7 on the ground floor was great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight while visiting Rothenburg with friends to attend the annual Volksmarch in town. Very nice hotel with great service & a ‘being at home’ feeling; located just outside one of the historic gates into the town and only a 10-minute walk to the town square. Conveniently located next to a public parking lot, so leave your car there and enjoy walking around the historic old town. Use the website to pre-select your room; we stayed in room #14 and it had plenty of space. The next day, we were treated to a great breakfast buffet with a variety of selections before departing for home. We will definitely come back to this place on any return visits to Rothenburg!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldranger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele Wetzel, Leiter Front Office at Hotel-Garni Hornburg, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thanks very much for your time and your nice comment! We are very happy to hear, that you
enjoyed your stay in February 2013 for the Volksmarsch. We would be happy to welcome you again another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Hotel Garni Hornburg is a wonderful hotel with a fairy-tale atmosphere and great views of the impressive and pretty walls of the old town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

The owners were extremely helpful and friendly, and lent us their personal maps when we went out cycling.
(a tip: make sure that you rent or bring bikes with lots of low gears, as it can be quite hilly around and outside the town)

We had Room 15, which has its own enclosed verandah with seats and a table, and fabulous views of the old town walls.
It has a lovely "olde worlde" style, and a newly-fitted bathroom is of extremely high quality -- overall both the rooms and the hotel are very classy, memorable, and very much in keeping with the atmosphere of the old town..

The hotel is conveniently placed just outside the old walls, and is less than 10 minutes walk (less than 600 metres) from the train station, so is very easy to access without a car.

We loved the breakfast which had a great choice of food, and great layout and even the smiles on the boiled eggs added to the feel-good atmosphere of the hotel.

There are several great restaurants within 5 minutes' walk of the hotel, and we felt that it was perfectly located.

We stayed 6 nights, and will definitely stay there again when we revisit Rothenburg.

Overall, it was a lovely experience, and one of the very best we had in Germany.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a good view of the old town.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We loved this charming hotel. We had rooms 19/20 which was perfect for our family of 4 (two teenaged girls). There were a number of stairs to climb...but the staircase was so beautiful it seemed worth it each time. The first floor lounge area was a nice place to visit with other members of our traveling party. On the ground floor there is a small lounge in the reception area with some board games available. The breakfast was filling and had a nice variety. Even in the early spring the gardens of the hotel were very lovely. It is located just outside the walls of the town. The owners were able to give us some nice recommendations of restaurants to visit that were open on the night we visited. When you arrive, make sure to check with the owners about which portion of the parking lot to park in to avoid additional fees or tickets. We definitely regretted not booking here for more than one night and if we are ever in the area again will return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJASHend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews