We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gerberhaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Gerberhaus
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Netzaberg, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The charm of this hotel was present at first sight. The pretty flowers out front made it welcoming. Our planned stay was for just one night, but we enjoyed the first night so much we stayed for a second. The staff spoke excellent English and were welcoming and friendly. Our room was spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable. The back garden was calm and relaxing filled with flowers and had comfortable padded patio furniture to sit in and unwind after a day of exploring. They even provided lap blankets to help with the chill in the air. Breakfast is from 8-10 and is very good. A nice assortment of meats, cheeses, pastry, breads, and fruit. It is in a quieter area of the town and has a garage you can park in. We will go back again for another wonderful quiet get away!

(They provided a hair dryer in the room also)

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1. It had a nice large bed and a smaller pull out bed. The room would fit 3 easil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhanah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    74
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
61
106
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We really enjoyed our night Hotel Gerberhaus.The room was charming, clean and quiet. We had a large top floor room so we had a king size bed, a sleeper couch and a twin bed in our room. It was the only hotel during our whole trip that all four of us were able to stay in one room. The owner was welcoming and the staff was very polite. We were able to park our car right behind the hotel. Hotel Gerberhaus is close to the gate and wall so it's easy to drive to without getting caught up in the tourists. Like all the hotels we stayed in, there was no air conditioning but there was a fan in the room and the town is so quiet at night we were able to sleep with the windows open. The breakfast was delicious and included in our room rate.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutForTheJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very old - very quaint. Very close to all the shops and within the walls. Terrific service and a lovely breakfast. A spacious triple room although the third bed was not very comfortable at all. Small number of rooms made for an intimate stay. No mod-cons but in this environment not needed or justified. Free wifi with a speedy connection and no limitations to the number of devices. We loved our over night stay. Parking available although pretty tight confines for a big car. Great value for the money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Gerberhaus for one night as a stop over in Rothenberg. The city itself is phenomenal, a sight not to be missed. I wish I had more time there. We stayed in room 17 which is on the top floor....a room for 5 people. Overall, my impression of the hotel was a good one. It is located just inside of the wall, a short walk from the town center. The young lady at the reception was polite and informative, the building and back garden beautiful. Breakfast was filling with the typical assortment of fruits, breads, meats, cookies, eggs.

What turned me off was that we found "something" under the pull-out sofa bed..not sure what it was...brown, round, I don't know...I didn't investigate too much as it was disgusting...after that I had a hard time sleeping in the room. My hopes are that whatever it was had slipped under the cushion and the person making the room didn't see it when they opened the couch.....nothing like finding some sort of food (I think) item left in your room.
However, the rest of the room seemed clean, but the walls needed some TLC, there was obvious spackle patches behind the sofa bed and some smudged areas as well....like if luggage or something had left a mark on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with another couple (separate rooms) for one night last weekend. The hotel was in an excellent location within Rothenberg. The rooms varied in size, but were clean and comfortable. We were in room 12 on the second floor and it was smaller but nice. The owner was very kind and welcoming and spoke perfect English. There is a an adorable Biergarten (beer garden/patio) at the back of the hotel where you can enjoy food and drinks. Parking was free and located along the city wall in the street behind the hotel. Breakfast was a traditional German/European breakfast buffet with cold cuts, cheeses, fresh fruit, assortment of breads, cereal, yogurt, coffee, hot tea, and orange juice. This was our second time to Rothenberg and first time at this hotel, but we would definitely recommend to others and will plan to stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: I do not remember seeing an elevator at the hotel so if you have trouble with stairs request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We loved everything about this place: the central location, spacious room with comfortable bed and amenities, available computer for guests to use, lovely garden patio with chairs and tables, gracious innkeeper, and sumptuous breakfasts including chilled champagne and assorted chocolates as well as all the usual breakfast foods. We highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardT352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Two nights in this fantastic hotel were worth it forr the amazing breakfast alone. Great location within the city walls and easy walking to all the important sights.

Rooms were on the smaller side, but were very clean and homely. We'd definitly go back again to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gerberhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gerberhaus

Property: Hotel Gerberhaus
Address: Spitalgasse 25, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gerberhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a tannery in the 16th century, this hotel was lovingly restored in the middle of the 1980s according to the specifications of the monument protection act. Romantic rooms in country-style offer a four-poster bed and modern bathrooms, most offering Wi-Fi. Guests can enjoy a gourmet breakfast buffet featuring fresh fruit, bread rolls, different types of marmalade, desserts and champagne. Guests take coffee and cake during the day and warm snacks in the evening. On sunny days enjoy the idyllic beer garden, where beer, wine, cake and ice cream are offered. During the winter months the hotel offers mulled wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gerberhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerberhaus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing