We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gerberhaus
Nearby Hotels
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
$215
$152
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$131
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
123
79
24
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
79
24
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownera rick steves tourhot bunsnice garden areasmall garagehotel is an easy walkcommon in europedecorated for christmascute roomhand held showerfree parkingthe staff was friendly and helpfulcharming placeshower headwould stay here againold townthe hotel manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 246 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was a 2nd stay. It was a wonderful place to be during Christmas season- convenient, cozy, and nicely decorated for Christmas. Breakfast excellent. Rooms comfortable, very traditional - no frills, but just what we wanted. Parking available and prices were reasonable. Perfect for us.

Room Tip: No elevator so if stairs a problem, ask for ground/1st floor
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irenmpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This was our second stay at the Gerberhaus. We stayed in the lower level apartment, which is accessible through the back gate of the hotel. We had a quadruple room for 2 adults and 2 children. Our room had a bedroom and the family room had a bed that was made from a futon or couch. There was also a little kitchen with a refrigerator/freezer, sink, microwave, and stove. The bathroom was relatively small, but adequate. There was only a shower, and you had to be careful not to get the rest of the bathroom floor wet. There also wasn't really any place to set your toiletries. Not a terribly big deal. We were able to park our rental car for free in the alleyway behind the hotel.

We thought the breakfast was delicious and the service was very good. We love the city, and the location of the hotel is quite nice. It was an easy walk to the Christmas Market and other shopping and dining.

We paid 185 euros per night, which was quite a bit more than we paid six years ago. We did enjoy having the extra space that the apt affords.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keri-Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2011 as part of a two week roadtrip through Germany. It was easy to get to thanks to our GPS. There is parking for a fee in a small garage attached to the hotel. It only holds a handful of cars and you must give them your car keys to let others in and out. The room we had was a triple on the top floor. It was decent enough, a little bigger than the Europe standard. There is no elevator, but we are young and able. The hotel has a computer on the second floor with internet access. The little cafe that was there was a great touch. We bought some 'apfel streudel' and a local beer and sat on the couches in the nice garden area in the back. I recommend this place because it so within the Rothenburg walls about a 10 minute walk from the main square so not many tourists around the hotel throughout the day compared to just a few blocks away. Also, because you are inside the walls it is much easier and nicer to see the town when the tourists are at a minimum. Make sure you do the night watchmen tour and if you have time, do that tour again but on your own because he takes you to some nice spots that only get much better because tourists aren't surrounding you. It gives a much better feel of the quaintness of the town. Oh and the breakfast was great, more generous than other offerings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flip52483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Have just returned from Rothenburg, having spent 3 days there for the Christmas Markets. Rothenburg itself is absolutely magical. The buildings are stunning, the market was great and the people friendly.
Hotel Gerberhaus had very friendly staff and the room itself was a very good size. The bed was comfy, the room was warm and the bathroom was clean. However we were in Room 5 and right behind our bed was the bathroom of the room next door. This would be fine if the guests in that room dont decide to have a bath and shower every morning at 6am! The stairway is just stone steps (no carpet), so again there was alot of noise coming from there.
Breakfast the first morning was good, plenty of choice including a hot egg dish. The second day was a totally different experience. There were no rolls (the lady had to go out to the shops and purchase some), no eggs, hardly any meat or cheese and I was very disappointed and it seemed a bit chaotic with too many people for the amount of food prepared. We got up early on the third morning to make sure of having breakfast but to be honest when I am on holiday I like to get up and have a leisurely breakfast. Also on the web site it says the cafe is open until 11.00pm. This was not the case. It shut by 6.00pm and we were told that they do not sell meals just cakes and drinks anyway, so every night you had to walk into the centre of the town to get a meal. We did find a great restaurant called The BurgerKellar, just a little way off the main square. Food was great and the owner very friendly.
So to sum up, if the Hotel is not busy it is a very pleasant place to stay, but I would probably not stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollyg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We have stayed at Hotel Gerberhaus three times. The staff has always been friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and cozy and the breakfast buffet outstanding.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gozer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews