We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Klosterstueble
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Finding the hotel is an adventure in itself. Once you are there the staff is very helpful and makes sure you have everything you need. You can walk anywhere from the hotel, pretty centrally located. Parking is free on the street. We had to carry our bags up several stairs to our room. Did not see any elevator. The room was tiny, but the bed was great. The shower was tiny also, my husband could barely turn around and the shower head hit him mid-chest. For one night it was fun and historic. Ended up locating this hotel through Rick Steve's books.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 597 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a two night stay at this historic hotel in a family apartment just over a week ago. The room was perfect, spacious and with enough room for all of us. The windows on both sides gaveus a great view out over Rothenburg's rooftops, and the rolling hills surrounding it. Breakfast was great and a bargain at 7Euros 50 per person each morning. Nothing was too much trouble, the staff here are so friendly and helpful. (Don't worry if there's nowhere to park when you arrive, just park as close as you can and the hotel will find you a parking spot. Don't be overwhelmed by the crowds during the day here either, most of them are coach visitors and disappear after 6pm when you will have the place all to yourselves!) Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaRSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed one night at the Klosterstueble. We walked from the train station and it took about 15 minutes, cutting through the town center. We stayed in a family apartment, which was essentially a one room suite. It was very spacious and clean, and the room decor was very impressive - an historic flavor yet extremely clean and new. The room, however, had very little in terms of amenities. For bottled water or beer, there was a self-service refrigerator on the first floor. The main doors to the hotel are locked late in the evening, but the room key works for both the room and the front door. Breakfast was included. It was mainly cold items - pastries, fruit, cold cuts, juice, etc. However, they prepared eggs to order. The wifi connection was poor but they did have a computer terminal where you can access the internet and print. Overall, it was a very nice hotel and I would recommend the apartment for families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingfromFairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful with information on the town and train schedules. The hotel is in a great location and our room was clean but basic, no English channels on the TV, a nice peek a boo view of the valley. Towels were new but rough fabric and the bathroom was quite small. Wifi didn't work in our room or in the breakfast area. Breakfast was tasty. Overall,if we were going back we would probably look at another hotel but it would be hard to beat the staff who were so friendly.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Igiveupjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was our first visit to Rothenburg ob der Tauber. It is every bit as enchanting and charming as the photos. We arrived after dark and were worried about being able to find the hotel, but the GPS was accurate and we drove right to it. We happened to time it perfectly and got a parking spot right in front of the hotel on the street. We did not move the car for the rest of our stay. The hotel staff is happy to assist you in finding parking if needed. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the main square, so is easy to get to anywhere in the town.

We reserved a larger room for two people in the gasthof area. It was clean and very spacious. It easily could have slept 4 people if necessary. Aside from the bed, there were two lounging areas that could accommodate another guest or two. There was also a sitting area and table with a window to view the town. The bathroom facilities were adequate. The water pressure in the shower was so strong it was sometimes painful.

The hotel itself is full of character and kind of quirky. There are different levels and narrow, winding staircases. The wooden slats creak with every step. It is just the type of place we enjoy staying.

The breakfast area was delightful. There was a large spread of meats, cheeses, breads and other typical European fare. A welcome addition was sparkling wine! Eggs were cooked to order upon request. It was a great way to begin a day of exploring the town.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant one evening. It was one of the best meals on our trip! There is also a bar in the basement of the hotel: Refugium 21. It was a convenient place to unwind after a day of sightseeing. Theresa, the manager of the bar, was very friendly and can make recommendations on other things to do in town.

Don’t miss out on the Night Watchman’s Tour! The staff can give you details upon arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IMForever28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Erika and her staff are simply the best…..The hotel is pure Disneyland…..Cozy, comfortable, and friendly. The best breakfast we had on a 2 week European vacation. The rooms are super comfortable. The location is the best. Erika made arrangements with a super awesome local named Herman to come and pick us up and give us a personal tour of Rothenburg. Herman the German was incredible. Easily the most memorable part of our vacation. Who else does this, no one…..Erika you have our business for life. There is no other place to stay in Rothenburg. Simply the Best…….

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Where2Nowtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during a 2 week vacation to Germany. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Out room was gigantic! Lots of space! The only issue we had way that wi-fi didn't work in our room. We had to step outside to the common area on our floor to get a signal. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank ThisandThatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klosterstueble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klosterstueble

Address: Heringsbronnengaesschen 5, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $104 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klosterstueble 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is hardly a town in Germany that is more charming and traditional than Rothenburg. In the historic part of this enchanting city you find the Kloster-Stueble, your romantic home for unforgettable moments. For three generations now the Kloster-Stueble has been owned by the same family who want to welcome their guests in a very personal atmosphere. That's why we only have individually appointed, romantic rooms, reflecting the cozy atmosphere of our town. He offers you a traditional, yet sophisticated cuisine, using only fresh, local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Klosterstueble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klosterstuble Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing