We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could not have been any better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Klosterstueble
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Boerne, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It could not have been any better”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was our third trip to Rothenburg. The first two times we stayed at another very popular hotel that is in one of Rothenburg's most recogonizable views. We are so very happy we changed this time to the Klosterstueble. Easily the best hotel of our trip to Germany. It could not have been any nicer, beautiful exposed beams to remind you that you are in a very old building in a medieval town but modern and clean. The staff made could not have been any nicer or more helpful. The woman who runs the hotel ( I think) was a genuinely nice, pleasant and warm person and made our stay in Rothenburg even more enjoyable. This is now "my" hotel in Rothenburg.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    135
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
192
274
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We found this hotel after wandering on the street and asking a local man walking his dog for a recommendation. We were warmly received and given a beautiful room, charming but modern. Unfortunately, our neighbors were a bit deaf and so had their tv up so loud as to disturb us, so the next morning, we were moved to a much larger, quieter, and expensive room for the same price. The breakfast was lovely, and the owner was a dear to us. We ate in the restaurant the first night (Monday), and because they were closed on Tuesday ate at one of the owner's recommendations, which was great. This is an amazing town to visit around the Christmas holiday time, and we were lucky enough to have a nice snowfall to add to the charm. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room #18 had two rooms and a bathroom, and was quiet. #15 was on the street and across from the chu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
754 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were so looking forward to our stay in this lovely town and were wanting a hotel that was fitting with the town. We absolutely loved this hotel!! The location was perfect, just a short walk from the main square, passed the Christmas shops:) in a quiet area. The hotel was just lovely inside and out. The interior was warm, welcoming and quaint. Our room, #20 was on the second floor and was a spacious room with separate sleeping areas for our family of four. The room was comfortable with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. Ericka was fabulous and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable even helping us so that we were able to watch American football, as my teenage son did not want to miss the game. The breakfast room was beautiful with stone and exposed beams. Breakfast itself was excellent with lots of choices as well as eggs made to order. We had dinner one evening in the restaurant and it was very enjoyable. This was our favorite hotel during out time in Germany.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We just loved everything about this wonderful hotel! The location was excellent. The view from our window was outstanding! We were in the old part of the hotel which was so cute. The breakfast was so impressive and the service was impeccable. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. So friendly, cute and really clean! Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a standard room in the gasthof of Hotel Klosterstueble - a section notably more dated than the hotel itself but offering better value for money, the same level of service and comfy rooms.

The hotel is located within the walled medieval village, a brief walk from the town square, up the road from a beautiful viewpoint, close to all attractions and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they assisted us with finding a parking spot (on the street outside the hotel) and carrying our luggage. The room, while dated, was extremely comfortable with an extra length bed and plush duvet. On the downside, my husband was too tall to stand in the shower and the free wifi was slightly inconsistent. The breakfast was really good consisting of pastries, yogurt, fruit, eggs on order, cold meats, cheeses, and condiments - definitely one of the better European breakfasts we ate.

In conclusion, go with the right expectations and you'll love it! It's an older guesthouse in an older building in an older city - one with tons of character and history hence I don't think there is a better fit. When we choose hotels, we avoid larger hotels and gravitate towards those with charm, character, friendly staff and a good location. This hotel ticks all those boxes and we'd love to stay there again. DO join the Nightwatchman tour - it's funny, entertaining and interesting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We found a parking spot right in front of the hotel. My hubbie made all the arrangements and I just looked on my smart phone at the hotel website on our drive in. The address on our confirmation didn’t work in our maps programs. The address on the website did and we got there but I was wishing for a bit better website map or link. I was getting excited to try the restaurant after all the glowing reviews but turned out it was closed the 2 days we were staying - Tues/Wed. Would have been nice to see that on the website. Our hostess gave us several recommendations including one for a few buildings away BurgerKeller - which she thought would be very cool as it was downstairs in a cellar - it was and the food was excellent. We were visiting during a very hot spell. She gave us 2 small fans - certainly better than nothing but don’t do too much to cool the place down since outside temperature is so hot. We had a family room - a double bed and a single in one room and then another single and a small table and booth wrap around seat by the window. The room is really very small as is the bathroom. There is a wardrobe and another couple of small places to stash away clothes but we are traveling at about our lightest ever for this family of 4 and there isn’t quite enough room for our stuff (large duffle, 2 stewardess bags, 2 backpacks). Towels are small but nice - waffle weave. There is liquid soap in the shower and small shampoo. No tissues. Toilet paper is nice and thick/study so I’m making due with it as tissues. Decor is quite charming throughout our room similar to the lobby and public areas. The town is really small and location of the hotel is very good and very easy to walk to everything. We were given log-ins to the free WiFi when we asked. Access works and we have strong signal but very slow. Very. Breakfast was quite nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bktw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great staff nice accommodations, excellent meals at a great value. In addition wonderful location to shop and see the town. We took an apartment for our family of six with separate bedrooms and living area it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klosterstueble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klosterstueble

Property: Hotel Klosterstueble
Address: Heringsbronnengaesschen 5, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klosterstueble 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is hardly a town in Germany that is more charming and traditional than Rothenburg. In the historic part of this enchanting city you find the Kloster-Stueble, your romantic home for unforgettable moments. For three generations now the Kloster-Stueble has been owned by the same family who want to welcome their guests in a very personal atmosphere. That's why we only have individually appointed, romantic rooms, reflecting the cozy atmosphere of our town. He offers you a traditional, yet sophisticated cuisine, using only fresh, local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Klosterstueble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klosterstuble Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing