We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back into history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Klosterstueble
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Stepping back into history”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our hostess, Erica greeted us with exuberance and a good sense of humor. She had great suggestions for where we should eat in the town, and obviously is the perfect personality for the hospitality business. The hotel itself, she told us, is 530 years old, and has been renovated tastefully, to make it comfortable for us, but still to appreciate the medieval history. Our room had a lovely view of the valley below, with a little church. The only down side to the room was that the lighting was insufficient. Breakfast was great, with eggs made to order, and much more food than a person like me can possibly want! The location is perfect, just down the street from the main square, an easy 5-minute walk at the most. But just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be quiet. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackhillssilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    132
    22
    7
    1
See reviews for
186
266
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel was a highlight on our trip! When we arrived, we asked if it would be possible to change our reservation to a room with two beds. I was suffering from a horrible cold, and my poor husband had been kept up all night because I was coughing constantly. Not only did we get two beds, Erica upgraded us to an apartment which had an entirely separate ROOM (with door!) at no additional cost. We were thrilled! That's just amazing service right there! Rothenburg lived up to my expectations and then some, and Hotel Klosterstuble was an essential part of our wonderful stay! Great breakfast, free use of computer, lovely location... just awesome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittypatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived late tired from flying and riding trains all day. Erica Beckh, our marvelous hostess, showed us to our room which was exactly what was described in the email confirming our reservation. It was a large room with windows facing two sides overlooking a beautiful church from the middle ages with a fountain that was still gurgling water to the basin below and old homes that were now hotels and charming restaurants. The room was on the lst floor, or our second floor with fifteen steps or two short flights of stairs. The building was once a nunnery for the church next door. It has now been converted into a beautiful, quaint and charming hotel with old woodwork and stone work in the breakfast room that can't be replicated in this day and age. The hotel was very very clean and the bathroom was spacious and modern. Erica asked us if we wanted or needed anything and we mentioned a beer would be great. The next thing we know there is a knock on the door and she is bringing us beer to cheer us up after a very very long day of traveling which never appeared on the bill.

The breakfast buffet in the hotel was in a beautiful old stone room with rolls, danish, breads, fruits, yogurt, granola, tomatoes, jams, juices,meats and more. Diana or Erica came to our table and brought us coffee and asked us how we would like our eggs made to order. The breakfast was terrific and the two ladies couldn't do enough for their guests.

The hotel is located close to all the shops and not far from the city wall or the town center, but far enough away so that when nightfall comes, quietness comes over the city and it is medieval again as all the tourists buses have left the area.

A reservation is a must especially during the tourist season. We made ours by emailing the hotel months in advance in order to get this particular corner room. We spent five nights in this hotel and loved every minute of it.

For their guests they had free computer time available on a computer down the hall from our room that we used a few times.

The dinner restaurant was closed two nights we were there but the night it opened we had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant is small and very intimate and mostly frequented by locals and people staying at the hotel. Our meal was so good that we came back the second night and had dinner at our same table. Reservations are advised as they do fill up.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and acquaintences. We would love to come back to Rothenburg ob der Tauber and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Email and reserve a room as far in advance as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsgilly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stay from here from the 23.11. to 25.11.12 in this wonderful hotel.
Its very central, only 100 meter from the 3 amazing Christmas shops from Kaethe Wohlfahrt away, perfect renovated building, super friendly team and a tasty breakfast & a wonderful restaurant with soooooooooo tasty food. reservation is a must : Then its really always full booked. (..that say a lot about the quality... Main guests on the 2 evenings : 60 percent USA, 20 Asia and the rest Germans. And all liked it)
We get a room in the "newer" part : The room was very cosy, soo romantic, very huge, super bed and we have 4 windows with a lot of natural light. 2 to the medieval street (..without traffic ) and 2 to the church next door.

When we come back we stay 100 percent here again.
A real pearl in the most romantic city of Germany.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Charming, quaint inn close to everything in the older part of this beautiful, historic town. Our room was plenty spacious for two; bedroom separate from sitting room with table, window overlooking patio and nook with bench seat. Breakfast included - eggs made to order, danish, cheeses, breads, fruit, yogurt, granola, nuts, tea, coffee were delicious and beautifully presented. Clean, quiet inn and very friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookinbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Room was clean and bright; front desk friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. All in all a good value. The architecture is striking because they started with an old building (buildings?) and refurbished everything. The woodwork is ancient but bright and the lighting throughout the hotel is imaginative. One improvement I would suggest is internet access in every room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCNagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Mix of historic with touch of modern in Lobby. Excellent breakfast & dinner. Helpful, friendly, English speaking staff. Close to town center & night watchman tour. Street parking but we parked outside town wall & walked in. Loved Rottenburg & this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klosterstueble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klosterstueble

Property: Hotel Klosterstueble
Address: Heringsbronnengaesschen 5, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klosterstueble 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is hardly a town in Germany that is more charming and traditional than Rothenburg. In the historic part of this enchanting city you find the Kloster-Stueble, your romantic home for unforgettable moments. For three generations now the Kloster-Stueble has been owned by the same family who want to welcome their guests in a very personal atmosphere. That's why we only have individually appointed, romantic rooms, reflecting the cozy atmosphere of our town. He offers you a traditional, yet sophisticated cuisine, using only fresh, local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Klosterstueble reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klosterstuble Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing