We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haus-Karin
Nearby Hotels
$321
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$136
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
$150
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Klosterstueble(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveler rating
136
19
5
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
19
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hostessshort walklarge roomsitting areabed was very comfortableguidebookcitywalleuroscouchfurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 164 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed with Karin and Hans 5 years ago and had such an amazing visit to Rothenburg we thought returning it couldn't possibly be as charming as we experienced the first time. But it really, really was. This time we brought our two small children and honestly, we felt more like we were visiting relatives or old friends than a B&B. Karin and Hans were so welcoming and friendly, and just like last time went the extra mile to help us have a fantastic stay. From providing maps and travel advice for Rothenburg and the romantic road generally, to finding toys for our kids to play with, and even bringing us chocolates back from a day trip... everything was just that bit more than expected. We loved it every bit as much as last time.

The house is in a residential area but about a 2 minute walk to the old city walls, 5 to the market square. It's quiet, comfortable, and the breakfasts are so generous you'll probably not need lunch. They provide a fridge stocked with free sparkling water and beer, a guide book for the city, they'll drive you to and from the station if you need it - I just couldn't recommend them highly enough. Everything you could want out of a stay in Rothenburg ODT. Prices are also incredibly good - one of the cheapest places we stayed in our entire trip. I can't think of a single negative thing to say! (and why would I want to - I love this place).

Room Tip: We've stayed upstairs and downstairs - upstairs is probably the pick as it's a massive room with a lovely seating area, stocked bookshelf etc. But both are lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in the large en- suite room for 1 night, during a trip to see the Christmas markets. Although it is not anything fancy, it is very comfortable, spacious & spotlessly clean. The bed was super comfortable & combined with the quiet residential neighborhood, we had an excellent night's rest. Nice, soft & fluffy towels in the bathroom. We left our rental car on the street in front of the house & easily walked the short distance into the historic walled town area. Fantastic breakfast ( described in posts below, so I won't repeat), as well as a little fridge in common area stocked with complimentary beer, water, tea, etc. Karin speaks excellent English & makes every effort to make sure her guests enjoy their stay. For 50 euros/ night--- I don't know how you can beat it !

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank travelmadCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Rothenburg and our second time staying at Kaus-Karin, and just as enjoyable as the first. Great location within easy walking distance of the town center. Karin is a great host and works hard to provide whatever you need, including staying up way past bedtime to await the courier with my lost luggage. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great and plentiful. We felt right at home. Thanks Karin.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captainnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We've just come back from a 5 week trip around Europe, with almost all of our accommodation in B&B's, and Haus Karin was by far our favourite and most memorable 'pit stop' (for all the right reasons)!

We were travelling by train and Karin came to pick us up from the train station, which was an incredibly welcome relief for us (Hans also dropped us off at the station when we left). From the moment we met her we felt at home, she is so warm and welcoming to her guests, instinctively understanding what you need while travelling.

We stayed in the large double room upstairs (which had its own fully equipped bathroom as well), which was quite roomy, had a comfortable bed, TV with satellite, table and chairs, wardrobe and couch/sofa. The communal area had supplies of tea, coffee and water. The breakfasts are to die for - incredibly generous, lots of variety, always fresh and you wish you had more room to eat more! *lol* Karin makes her own jams, which are absolutely delicious - she very kindly gave me a jar to take on my travels when we left! (Thanks Karin!!)

Karin offers information about Rothenburg, suggestions of what to see and do, and lends her guests a copy of the detailed town tour guide. She recommended the Night Watchman tour to us, which was very entertaining and informative - we're so glad we did it. The B&B really is a 5min walk to the old town walls and a 10min walk in total to the Market Place. It's in an incredibly convenient location.

Karin has many guest books, which she asks her visitors to write in before they leave. Reading through these, it is obvious that all of Karin's guests have had a wonderful stay in her home and would have cherished memories of their time in Haus Karin and Rothenburg for many years to come.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lil_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 3 night at Haus-Karin earlier this month.. As we pulled up to the house Karin was walking out the door to greet us and instruct us as to where to park the car. There is parking on the street for her guests. The house was not marked so look for the number 26 on the garage. Karin was quick to give us directions into town, hand us a guide book in English to use for the duration of our stay, and show us around the B & B. We had a room on the second floor with a small sitting area, tv, table and king size bed. We also had our own bathroom in the room. There are two more bedrooms on the second floor, each with a sink and bed in them. They share a toilet and shower in the hallway. There are two more rooms downstairs that share a bathroom. There is a coffee and tea station upstairs as well as a stocked refrigerator with beer and water. These are all included in the price and we enjoyed having the bottled water as well as a beer in the afternoon. Breakfast was just as everyone described. A "royal" breakfast Karin calls it. There was bread, meat, cheese, jams, jellies, hard boiled eggs, pound cake, fruit, tomatoes, cucumbers, tea, coffee, juice. It was a great way to start the day. Breakfast was served between 7:30 and 10:00 am in the morning.
It is a short walk into town. Karin gives you directions and she also makes a recommendation for dinner which was very good. We were going to go back for a second night but they are closed on Tuesdays. She gave us a recommendation in a nearby town that was also very good.
We used the internet for 2 euros per day. The connection was excellent.
Our second afternoon at Haus Karin we returned from a day trip and saw Karin sitting on the front porch. We went upstairs, unloaded our things and we grabbed a beer and went and sat outside with her. It was a lovely day and we had a great conversation for an hour.
Karin and Hans are hard workers, she runs a good business and wants to please her customers.
Haus-Karin is in a great location, very clean, comfortable, quiet and a good choice for Rothenburg.
I did all my communication with Karin through the internet. The reservation process was easy and she was quick to respond. If I sent something past 8 or 9pm her time, she usually got back to me the next morning.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom make sure you ask for the room with the ensuite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeptravlelingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews