We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet but still downtown Rothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“quiet but still downtown Rothenburg”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I liked this modern hotel, new rooms, new washrooms, but still in an big old wood framed house.
Good breakfast, walk to the market square takes like 5 minutes. The townwall to walk on is just next to the house. (This might require you to close the curtains, as some ppl might look at your room, while walking the old town wall.)
Parking situation can be tricky, ask at the front desk, so you dont get towed away.
No a/c; but wifi
Good price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear germanytraveler 007,

Wow, a full house rating! Thank you very much that we did everything right for you.

Our very close location to the town wall was described very well by you. But that goes for both sides: Of course also YOU can watch people going by.. ;-)

As for a/c. I think you a hinting at summertime. Our restaurant Topinambur and conference rooms are with full a/c. You do not find airconditioned hotel rooms in Rothenburg.

Looking forward to see you back in summertime in the Prinzhotel Rothenburg, I remain with best regards.

Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    98
    49
    20
    5
See reviews for
41
105
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The hotel was decent. Te breakfast and restaurant was fantastic. Our room was clean but basic. No kettle or DIY tea coffee. Also no safe. The younger lady who was on the morning shift on reception seemed not to care to much and didn't even wish us a merry Christmas or thanking us for staying, they are simple things but they make a difference. However the lady who did the afternoon and night shift on the reception was fantastic. Overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for your comment. Especially, that you rate our breakfast and the restaurant in the Prinzhotel Rothenburg fantastic pleases us.

It would have been nice, if you would have mentioned our little chocolate Christmas presents in the room for you. (They are simple things but they apparently do not make a difference;-) Safe space can be obtained at the reception, just ask us if you feel that someting has to be locked away safely.
DIY coffee making facilities have been often misused by guest in the past cooking instant soups in the kettle (!), leaving an odour in the room and destroying the kettle - therefore we do not offer that anymore.

With twice "fantastic" why do you only give us 3 points? After all, it was Christmas time: It is more blessed to give than to receive ;-)

Looking forward to welcome you again and then we work our way to five...
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is located in the old town of Rothenburg, yet in a quiet street. Good and efficient reception. The room was large, nice, comfortable and clean. The (included) breakfast buffet offered variety and quality. I hope I can return some time soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Denise,

Well, that's a clear recommendation! Thank you very much. We do not hesitate to wish you a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year! Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forli, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is in a central position, close to several good restaurant. Tidy and silent rooms. The hotel staff are very pleasant and attentive. But the best thing is the excellent breakfast! There is everything. Just a couple of thing to improve: if you want to drink an espresso you have to pay an additional cost and the wifi is not free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Franco B,

Thank you very much for your positive notes for your our breakfast buffet. We are working very hard on the standard, because we want to offer the best standard in Rothenburg.

Regarding your suggestion to "Free Espresso" - please consider that we only charge for our houseguests a breakfast price of EUR 5,- for the whole buffet items and brewed coffee, or high class Ronnefeldt tea - as much as you like...
Now that is a very, very competitive price. Please have the mercy to grant us a little bit of additional revenue if it comes to extra orders from guests beyond the limits.

Looking forward to serve you another espresso with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Prinzhotel is a good hotel to stay in Rothenburg, breakfast is huge and good but be caruful with the bedrooms choice. I have a double room smaller than my collegues ones. Seen that the price is the same i advice you to check and ask for a change if needed. my room was one of the one which is sided to the city walls so if you can see the walls from your door window then probably your room is a small room. during the night i was waken up by someone screaming...i haven 't understand if he was inside or outside the hotel but the important thing is that the room does not cover external noise . Next time i'll be in prinzhotel i'll carefully check &choose my room

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear bigoi75,

Thank you ever so much for a clear and positive rating of our extensive breakfast, which is one of our USP's.

I am very sorry to hear that a screaming disturbance was waking you during the night. I would not have been amused either - sometimes there are really silly people around. But that is outside our control and the first we hear. The windows are new and keep up with the “normal” traffic noises and are of course soundproof. I wish they would also be "scream proof" to your sleeping benefit.

Glad that you take it relatively cool. Looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Prinzhotel.
Best regards,
Ernest Kraft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent there 2 nights during our tour to Rothenburg at the end of September.
The location is great – just couple of minutes from the centere of the old city.
The check in service was great and helpful and we got a nice room on at the hotel front with nice view of the wall. The room was comfortable with 2 windows that we kept opened most of the time. We liked to stay there.
Parking was easy as the hotel has some parking lots and there were a lot of places along the city wall.
My two comments:
1 - The breakfast seems to be poor – we tried both the continental as well as the buffet and both were not satisfying.
2 - The bathroom water stream was low.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric_Or_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Arik_Gazit,

Thank you for your very positive comment. Sadly you could not enjoy right from the start our really extensive and rich breakfast. How come?

1. You booked from a wholesaler a a special low rate, which only includes reduced Continental breakfast.

2. The fact, that you had to pay then a supplementary charge - by the way, only 5 EUR - for the full breakfast buffet, probably spoiled your breakfast mood.

We recommend to carefully double check travel arrangements from tour operators, which services are actually included and which are not. Do not be blinded by the lowest rate.

Without this hick-up you would have loved our breakfast. So, we get blamed for someone elses fault. Next time book over our own Prinzhotel booking engine - the best deals - only here...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkmichael, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Recently booked in here for 6 nights and on arrival thought it was a bit scruffy. As we made our way to our room, noted the grubbiness of the corridors, and hoped the room wouldn't be the same. Well it wasn't as bad, but it was a pokey wee cell. Then remembered we had booked - and paid for - a superior room, and went down to reception to point out their mistake. You've guessed it - ours was a superior room. And we saw some of the others when the doors were open for housekeeping and they were even smaller. Next insult was getting a parking ticket in the street outside the hotel - where they told me to park. The local authority came along and stuck up some temporary "no parking" signs - talk about entrapment - where my car was already parked. The hotel couldn't be bothered telling guests, many of whom got the punishment. Then they charged me for losing a plastic electronic door key.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
How on earth is it possible, that a customer hates his room, calls it scruffy and tiny wee, but then STAYS actually 6 nights...?

Has he been perhaps trapped in his room, tied to the floor with strings like Gullivers in Lilliput, by all these little midgets living in these other wee wee tiny tiny guest rooms?

Come on, you are just upset because of the parking ticket you got for not parking properly! You are the driver and responsible for you car - not us. Do not blame others for your negligence. Practise your driving skills and learn to love the world - it is fun.

Guests, who actually are still able to articulate their wish to our reception staff, will be helped with prompt friendliness and the aim to find a solution - whilst - they are still on the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
582 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinzhotel Rothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinzhotel Rothenburg

Property: Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Address: Hofstatt 3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prinzhotel Rothenburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Prinzhotel Rothenburg is located very quietly within the old town and ideally provides stairs to access the historic townwall and Roedertower, which are directly next to us. It provides 50 very comfortable modern designed room categories standard, superior and bel etage, which have been renovated recently including big new bathrooms with daylight effect, over 60 TV channels with 32" LED flatscreens and WiFi. Fantastic private breakfast buffet for individual travellers. Wellness Packages enhance the romantic weekend break. You can book the best room rates and offers, with up to 15% rebate - but only on the OFFICIAL Prinzhotel Cbooking engine. The Hotel is accessible by car without hindrance. You drive directly with your car in the front of the hotel. On the terrace of our airconditioned restaurant Topinambur you enjoy, fresh regional dishes - and a daily happy hour in the Cocktailbar TopinamBAR. We serve the best Rothenburg coffee specialities with incredible foamy variations and thick tasty waffles - try us for a fantastic coffee experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prinzhotel Rothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Prinzhotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing