We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Nearby Hotels
$217
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Altes Brauhaus(Rothenburg)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
$113
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$226
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Klosterstueble(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
63
114
50
20
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
114
50
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelold towngreat locationclose walkroom was cleaninternet accessfamily runa great staystay there againinside the walled citystar hotelexcellent breakfaststayed here for nightsnight watchman tourchristmas marketbeautiful townwalls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 252 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is in a central position, close to several good restaurant. Tidy and silent rooms. The hotel staff are very pleasant and attentive. But the best thing is the excellent breakfast! There is everything. Just a couple of thing to improve: if you want to drink an espresso you have to pay an additional cost and the wifi is not free.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Franco B,

Thank you very much for your positive notes for your our breakfast buffet. We are working very hard on the standard, because we want to offer the best standard in Rothenburg.

Regarding your suggestion to "Free Espresso" - please consider that we only charge for our houseguests a breakfast price of EUR 5,- for the whole buffet items and brewed coffee, or high class Ronnefeldt tea - as much as you like...
Now that is a very, very competitive price. Please have the mercy to grant us a little bit of additional revenue if it comes to extra orders from guests beyond the limits.

Looking forward to serve you another espresso with a smile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Prinzhotel is a good hotel to stay in Rothenburg, breakfast is huge and good but be caruful with the bedrooms choice. I have a double room smaller than my collegues ones. Seen that the price is the same i advice you to check and ask for a change if needed. my room was one of the one which is sided to the city walls so if you can see the walls from your door window then probably your room is a small room. during the night i was waken up by someone screaming...i haven 't understand if he was inside or outside the hotel but the important thing is that the room does not cover external noise . Next time i'll be in prinzhotel i'll carefully check &choose my room

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear bigoi75,

Thank you ever so much for a clear and positive rating of our extensive breakfast, which is one of our USP's.

I am very sorry to hear that a screaming disturbance was waking you during the night. I would not have been amused either - sometimes there are really silly people around. But that is outside our control and the first we hear. The windows are new and keep up with the “normal” traffic noises and are of course soundproof. I wish they would also be "scream proof" to your sleeping benefit.

Glad that you take it relatively cool. Looking forward to welcome you back soon to the Prinzhotel.
Best regards,
Ernest Kraft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent there 2 nights during our tour to Rothenburg at the end of September.
The location is great – just couple of minutes from the centere of the old city.
The check in service was great and helpful and we got a nice room on at the hotel front with nice view of the wall. The room was comfortable with 2 windows that we kept opened most of the time. We liked to stay there.
Parking was easy as the hotel has some parking lots and there were a lot of places along the city wall.
My two comments:
1 - The breakfast seems to be poor – we tried both the continental as well as the buffet and both were not satisfying.
2 - The bathroom water stream was low.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric_Or_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Arik_Gazit,

Thank you for your very positive comment. Sadly you could not enjoy right from the start our really extensive and rich breakfast. How come?

1. You booked from a wholesaler a a special low rate, which only includes reduced Continental breakfast.

2. The fact, that you had to pay then a supplementary charge - by the way, only 5 EUR - for the full breakfast buffet, probably spoiled your breakfast mood.

We recommend to carefully double check travel arrangements from tour operators, which services are actually included and which are not. Do not be blinded by the lowest rate.

Without this hick-up you would have loved our breakfast. So, we get blamed for someone elses fault. Next time book over our own Prinzhotel booking engine - the best deals - only here...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Recently booked in here for 6 nights and on arrival thought it was a bit scruffy. As we made our way to our room, noted the grubbiness of the corridors, and hoped the room wouldn't be the same. Well it wasn't as bad, but it was a pokey wee cell. Then remembered we had booked - and paid for - a superior room, and went down to reception to point out their mistake. You've guessed it - ours was a superior room. And we saw some of the others when the doors were open for housekeeping and they were even smaller. Next insult was getting a parking ticket in the street outside the hotel - where they told me to park. The local authority came along and stuck up some temporary "no parking" signs - talk about entrapment - where my car was already parked. The hotel couldn't be bothered telling guests, many of whom got the punishment. Then they charged me for losing a plastic electronic door key.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

How on earth is it possible, that a customer hates his room, calls it scruffy and tiny wee, but then STAYS actually 6 nights...?

Has he been perhaps trapped in his room, tied to the floor with strings like Gullivers in Lilliput, by all these little midgets living in these other wee wee tiny tiny guest rooms?

Come on, you are just upset because of the parking ticket you got for not parking properly! You are the driver and responsible for you car - not us. Do not blame others for your negligence. Practise your driving skills and learn to love the world - it is fun.

Guests, who actually are still able to articulate their wish to our reception staff, will be helped with prompt friendliness and the aim to find a solution - whilst - they are still on the premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The lacation is unbeatable! Right out the front door to the stairs to the top of the wall, so you can walk the town wall. Parking was on site and plentiful. The bathroom was a joke, shower so small I went without showering,beds not to comfortable either. Very hot room ,we were on the back side with no a/c, you at least need to have a breeze for your room .Could not leave windows open because the building behind it looks right into your room. Elevator not working very hard to carry 4-bags to the third floor with no assistance from fron desk, really did not seem to care. But keep it possitive, the location is probably the best in town for all restaurant and shops .

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room on the back side-no view or privacy
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ernest_Kraft, Inhaber at Prinzhotel Rothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Dave,

Thank you for the accolade "great location" of the Prinzhotel Rothenburg. A lot of other guests appreciate that as well and book also for that reason.

Regarding your coments to size of shower. Well.., we do not know what waistline you have ;-) but all showers are standarized size. Can it be that you were overall frustrated with the very very hot weather? It is absolutely understandable - but that is what we call nature.

DId you make a point of contacting reception, whilst you were our guest? We can normally always sort something out.
You could have cooled off in our new Cocktailbar TopinamBAR - here we have your beloved air conditioning, both - in the restaurant and bar - had a chance?

It is all well to write in TA after you left, but here we cannot really help you anymore, but to thank you for your still positive lines and hope to see you again in winterime. By the way, we have central heating :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews