We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Ranked #1 of 34 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location and our room was clean and large. They also had parking and very friendly staff. For my taste, the hotel was a little old fashioned and perhaps had too many decorations; however, I would not rule this hotel out on another stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NutAndHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 381 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location for a stay in Rothenburg! There is parking for hotel guests behind the hotel, and once you are there, you do not need your vehicle until you leave.

There is so much history in this town and in this hotel. We opted for "comfort rooms" and we had so much space - it was really more like a suite. Of course, the door frames are low and the baths are tucked in any way they could fit them, but this is all part of the charm. Beds were very comfortable and the hotel is spotless. The breakfast room was lovely, and the staff was very nice and helpful. This is obviously a family affair, and they all work very hard to be sure that everything is perfect. We had good wifi in our room, but our traveling companions had more difficulty.

One other point - the restaurant in the hotel is very good and very popular. We highly recommend both the hotel and its restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Three couples stayed here in mid-September. We purchased the special with a three-course dinner, admission to the Criminal Museum, and a ticket to the Night Watchman’s Tour. We were very pleased! The dinner was chosen for you with a delicious soup, salad, entrée of pork, and a yummy dessert of vanilla and chocolate ice cream covered with fresh fruit. This meal was so good that we dined there the next night on wild boar stew and fish!! Once you park your car behind the hotel you can easily walk the entire town! The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Wifi was spotty!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers4244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Gasthof Goldener Greifen for one night and thought it was great. We had a big comfortable room and its location in the old town of Rothenberg can't be beat...Just off thr main market squate. The service was friendly and helpful. Free parking at the back of the hotel was great as driving and parking in the old town is tricky. They also let us stay parked for hours aftrr we checked out. The breakfast was traditional and you can specially order eggs to your liking. My only complaint was the wifi which doesn't reach beyond the second floor. They need a repeater which would solve this simple inconvenience.

Also, try the restaurant for lunch or dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

You walk out the front door and you are in the center of town. Walk any direction to see anything. The hotel just seems like you have gone back in time a few hundred years and I mean that in a very good way - it just looks like something in a movie. So many restaurants and the hotel restaurant is just as good as any of them. Staff was very helpful anytime we asked for anything. Not sure it makes sense to stay anywhere else in Rothenburg.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATL-RES-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is very well situated. It has personality but is also clean, comfortable and well run. The staff was friendly and helpful. A big bonus in this crowded little historical town is that the hotel has its own parking for guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

All the other reviews are spot on. The location its great, the staff very friendly, the food its great and well priced. I would love to come back again and again. Don't forget this hotel its just over 600 years old so has its own charm you don't get in a chain hotel. Very well done

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank empirecircuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
597 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen

Address: Obere Schmiedgasse 5, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: $87 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the center of the historical town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber in the residence of the famous mayor Heinrich Toppler the "Goldene Greifen" - Golden Griffin - has always been a meeting point for societal life. Our house is listed and protected as a landmark - because of this none of our guest rooms are the same, but each one has its own unique charme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Goldener Greifen Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing