We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Ranked #1 of 33 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
349 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Great guesthouse!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Gasthof Goldener Greifen for one night and thought it was great. We had a big comfortable room and its location in the old town of Rothenberg can't be beat...Just off thr main market squate. The service was friendly and helpful. Free parking at the back of the hotel was great as driving and parking in the old town is tricky. They also let us stay parked for hours aftrr we checked out. The breakfast was traditional and you can specially order eggs to your liking. My only complaint was the wifi which doesn't reach beyond the second floor. They need a repeater which would solve this simple inconvenience.

Also, try the restaurant for lunch or dinner!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    106
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
87
178
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

You walk out the front door and you are in the center of town. Walk any direction to see anything. The hotel just seems like you have gone back in time a few hundred years and I mean that in a very good way - it just looks like something in a movie. So many restaurants and the hotel restaurant is just as good as any of them. Staff was very helpful anytime we asked for anything. Not sure it makes sense to stay anywhere else in Rothenburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATL-RES-2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is very well situated. It has personality but is also clean, comfortable and well run. The staff was friendly and helpful. A big bonus in this crowded little historical town is that the hotel has its own parking for guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

All the other reviews are spot on. The location its great, the staff very friendly, the food its great and well priced. I would love to come back again and again. Don't forget this hotel its just over 600 years old so has its own charm you don't get in a chain hotel. Very well done

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank empirecircuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Due to a canceled flight by United, our stay at the Goldener Greifen was, sadly, only one night. That said, this was the best nights sleep I have ever had! The location is absolutely fantastic, being just south of the town square. Our room was surprisingly large, although the bathroom was very small. The room itself was clean and comfortable. Our room was upstairs, overlooking the patio eating area. It was quiet at night.

There were three highlights of this hotel. The first was the quaint atmosphere of sleeping in the Mayor's house from 1408. The second was the excellent food in the restaurant. Third, was the reception by Frau Ursula. She was so kind and most accommodating of our troubles with our cancelled flight. We had reserved two nights, but only used one; Ursula only charged us for one. Our room was reserved with just an email; no credit card was even requested. Ursula even stored our luggage for a few hours after we checked out so we could tour the town unencumbered before our departure. My wife and I are planning another trip to Germany; Rothenburg is one of the destinations and the Goldener Greifen will be our hotel. We absolutely love this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launching Place
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a find, we drove into rothenburg ob der tauber, I use the full name as there are a few rothenburgs, and right into the heart of the old town up narrow cobblestoned streets to find the hotel right in the middle. The staff were friendly and welcoming, we had a room for 4 which was huge, with free wi fi, nice breakfast, free parking out the back and a nice character filled hotel what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubadiver50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were so thrilled with this hotel. The location is the best just off the main square and we walked from the train station and it is a pleasant 15 minute stroll. The staff were helpful and friendly and even carried my suitcase up the 2 flights of stairs - be aware there is no lift in this beautiful old building. Our room was basic - no frills or TV and you had to sit down to have a shower in the bath - but it suited us as we were out all the time. Free WIFI but could only get connected either downstairs or outdoors. Breakfast was delicious and it was great that you were served with plates of food rather than self service, and we had dinner there one night - also terrific and not expensive. The hotel decor matches the building and everything is spotlessly clean - a truly great hotel. We stayed two nights and needed all of that as we walked around the city walls and did the night tour as well.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swarovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen

Property: Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Address: Obere Schmiedgasse 5, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Goldener Greifen Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing