We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, amazing staff and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen
Ranked #1 of 34 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Gasthof for two nights at the beginning of our Austria and Germany trip. It was an amazing way to start our vacation. We had a standard double room facing the hotel's inner courtyard used by their restaurant. It was a huge room, by European or American standards. Check-in, parking, and interacting with the staff was a breeze. It is right in the center of the town, but they have ample parking and is very quiet. The restaurant was one of the best we ate at in town and the decor is a trip. Breakfast was delicious too.
If you're considering a visit to Rothenburg, I strongly recommend staying the night and certainly at Gasthof Goldener. The town quiets down after 4:00/5:00 when the tour buses leave and you're finally free to stroll the town, what better way than to stay here?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 384 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The gasthof was wonderful. About a ten minute walk from the train station, it is right in the center of town. Host was helpful in finding a doctor when we needed one. Cute and traditional decor. We did a dinner and breakfast package, great deal. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Goldener Greifen for one night on June 5. It is centrally located and an easy walk from the train (about 3/4 miles). The front desk was most helpful, showing us to our room, answering questions, etc.. English was not a problem. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bath, like most European hotels was small but functional. The building is probably 400 years old (with modem conveniences) which, for us, makes the stay interesting and enjoyable as you see the "little things" a vintage building has to offer. (see picture below).

The hotel has a very nice patio/ courtyard which is most enjoyable. It also has a full service restaurant which we did not happen to use except for some snacks. Breakfast was very good. All in all a very nice stay and we'd stay there again if we returned to Rothenburg.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the good reviews, location, and the Nightwatchman’s Special, We would rate this hotel as no better than average in almost all categories, and I feel we paid a premium price compared to other hotels in the city.

For our 2 night stay, we upgraded to a larger ‘Comfort Room’ and signed up for the ‘Nightwatchman’s Special’ which included a 3 course meal for one evening and tickets for the Nightwatchman’s tour and the Criminal Museum, both of which are highly recommended.

The hotel is centrally located for shopping and the Night Watchman's tour. There is also free parking available behind the building (first come, first served.) The larger room was average at best, The breakfast was OK, very basic, with a selection of breads, deli meats, yogurts and granolas.

The 3 course dinner was good but not great. It appears that meals for the ‘specials’ are in the large entryway and not at a nice table in the main dining room as promised earlier in the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil and Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just stayed one night. Drove a car and was able to use some of the limited parking in the back. The hotel's website provides the best directions for drivers, because the narrow streets within the walls are difficult to navigate.
The inn has a popular restaurant that takes up a the majority of the staff's attention. We had an apartment style room (#1, on second floor) with plenty of room and a decent sized bathroom. The main area had a not-so-comfortable futon-like single and sleeper sofa, while the bedroom had a comfortable king-size bed. The breakfast was quite good.
The attraction of this property is its location and value. I feel that it might be a bit overrated beyond that. However, Rothenberg is a fun town to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pumpkinflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

For location this hotel is hard to beat, right off the town square and within the walls. We stayed as part of a two night, one dinner, and tickets for two attractions deal, that also included parking.

Our room was spacious, clean, and a good value. Our dinner the one night was good, although be advised that the price you are quoted does not include a beverage which will be added to your bill at the end.

This is a multi-generational family run place, and you'll likely enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Price, Location. Food. Free parking within the walls. Clean. No elevator but hey, you're in vacation, right? You can walk to everything from here. A bit difficult to find when driving, but stay with it, it is worth it. Having trouble, just pull over and walk to the place for direction. Had a very good dinner. In the later spring and in the summer you can eat outside on the patio. Separate breakfast room and very good. Includes juice. Very apparently still run by a caring family. Smallish room, but not bad.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhoffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen

Address: Obere Schmiedgasse 5, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: $92 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the center of the historical town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber in the residence of the famous mayor Heinrich Toppler the "Goldene Greifen" - Golden Griffin - has always been a meeting point for societal life. Our house is listed and protected as a landmark - because of this none of our guest rooms are the same, but each one has its own unique charme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Goldener Greifen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Goldener Greifen Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing