We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Nearby Hotels
$339
$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
$215
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Altes Brauhaus(Rothenburg)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$129
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$227
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$110
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
152
130
44
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
130
44
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomgames roomdecent roomtypical of european hotelstauber valleylocation locationroom was pretty smallquadruple roomold townwindow tablegreat parkingantique furnishingswished we had stayed longerbus tourwould stay here againrich historyprivate parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 346 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Awsome hotel from 1476, I just wish the walls could talk.
Big spacious rooms, ours had a view of the valley, and very friendly staff.
Very good beds.
The hotel in it self is an attraction, just walking through the mingeling areas, and look at all the history that is saved.
Will definetly be my choice again it we go back to Rothenburg!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over the vally, beautiful :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnOvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Spectaular town, awesome hotel. Building is from the 12 century and maintains its structure. The room we has was very large with soaker tub and shower, plenty of space with a nice bed. Elevevator, free breakfast, free parking and some awesome staff, very friendly, and helpful. Helps if you know some German however.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Be careful driving into Rothenburg; many of the streets are impassable. Our daughter and I were trying to locate a recommended hotel to find there was "no room in the inn". We thought to drive and just check to see who had vacancy. Turning down one narrow street we had to reverse and back up as the trash truck in front of us also had to backup. Only one way in and backing up to return. That return put us in front of the Hotel Goldener Hirsch. Lovely front and sign, and ,yes, they could accommodate us. It was the last leg of our trip and money was running thin. We read that there is a 2% charge if you use a credit card. We paid 135 Euro for one night and charged the second night. The owner did not add on the 2%. There are a few steps to a lift. Our second floor room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The windows opened to a spectacular viel of the valley and mountains. It was a nice way to end our trip.
There is parking available for 7 Euro a day, just around another corner, within a block.
Breakfast was generous and very nice. The dining hall also overlooks the valley; a nice place to relax and not feel rushed. Owners and staff were very helpful and polite. We often saw their little son walking around and observing people; a good education for him.
Overnight tours often stay here as we discovered the next morning when we went down to breakfast and 50 some people had gathered waiting for the dining room to open. We went for a walk and returned later; there was still plenty of food and chafers were being refilled.
The hotel is quiet; we never heard any of these other guests. Lovely people and a lovely hotel in a lovely town.

Room Tip: Room 218 overlooked the valley and mountains; very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bucketlistend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was easy to find and the parking provided was simple to navigate.

We were really surprised at the size of the rooms. Ours was massive! We had a hallway/entrance, a smaller bathroom with toilet, then the main room with a little dining nook, a mini lounge area, sinks and of course the bed. We were at the back of the hotel so we had views out over the wall and beyond.

Service was great. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon after the tourist information centre had closed but the lady at check in gave us all the information we needed.

Breakfast the next day was really good in a room once again looking out over the wall.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cblee_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here just before Christmas, we had a room at the front of the Hotel, could not fault it, spacious and very comfortable.
Large bathroom with load of hot water.
Staff were friendly and helpful, only downside was the lack of a bar, although they did supply drinks from behind the front desk.
Good location within the City Walls and a large car park not too far away.
There are plenty of good eating establishments close at hand, but did enjoy the selection, though expensive, available in the Christmas Markets.
Don't forget to walk with the Night Watchman.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank geranimo138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews