We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next main town square, walking distance to everything, beautiful historic hotel, great breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great location next main town square, walking distance to everything, beautiful historic hotel, great breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This place was so perfect! They have free parking behind the building which is hard to find in town. Its pedestrian only. Right next to the main town square. Our room with king bed was spacious and the bath with shower was large as well. Breakfast was great! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelonmymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    105
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
99
128
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights. The location is fantastic! When we checked in we were told the room would not be ready for 30 min. to an hour, which was not a problem since we were meeting some friends for kaffee & kuchen. When we did return to get checked in they couldn't locate the key to our room, we were sent to our room with the master key - once we got to the room we discovered someone else was already occupying the room. My husband went back to the front desk to explain the situation, the woman at the front desk didn't seem to believe my husband so she came back to the room to check. She then went to several other rooms (with us tagging behind) until she found a room that was unoccupied. The room she gave us had a phenomenal view, but was incredibly tiny and looked very shabby (and not in the shabby chic sort of way). My husband went back down to discuss the room and afterwards we were given a larger room just upstairs from our original room. I got the feeling that they may have been doing a bit of remodeling/refurbishing - I hope that is the case. The staff seemed a bit aloof and disorganized. It is a great location with some amazing views from the backside of the hotel, but I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our room at the Goldener Hirsch was rather small with a small bathroom but the view over the valley was great. Other rooms that we saw were much larger. We booked online at the last minute and it was, essentially, the last room in the town. The hotel is somewhat worn at the edges [so am I] although it was elegant in the past. Also. there were tour groups every night of our stay. There is no wifi but there is parking at 6 euros. That said, the location was perfect--the center of the old town, the staff very helpful, the breakfast quite good and we like antique hotels. All in all, it was an enjoyable stay..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frogcarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Rothenburg ob der Tauber is so pretty that you will not be spending much time in your room so for that this hotel is fine. My husband and I had one night here on our tour around the South of Germany. Our room was pretty small and basic but the breakfast in the small dining room was nice with great views. The rooms are okay if you don't plan on spending alot of time in it but the hotel is in a great location and is very central in Rothenburg ob der Tauber.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here over night on our way home from holiday. We phoned ahead to ask if they could accommodate us with our 15 year old daughter, which was no problem. We were given two adjoining double rooms which were enormous with the most fabulous view out over the valley and over the old city wall. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the airco was a very pleasant extra seeing as it was 31 degree's outside. The decoration was very old but in keeping with the hotel and very well maintained. The breakfast was very good and was served in the stunningly beautiful breakfast room, once again with the wonderful view. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. All in all it made an unexpected wonderful last night of our holidays. I would highly recommend this hotel for a stay and do intend to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The position is great and the room for the breakfast has an amazing view. Howevere everything else was not so good. The room did not have a rea bathroom. I had 2 lavatory in the room anda in a corner of the room a small room was built for the wc and the bath. But this small room did not have a window or a way to change air. The wall were dirty. My feeling is that this was a great hotel but they are not investing money for the quality. In addition to that I was negatively impressed by the request of 5% extracharge because I used my Mastercard instead of cash.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alberto m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Good, central and nice. Historical. Nice view from the Breakfast. Comfy beds and nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janicamoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Address: Untere Schmiedgasse 16-25, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Goldener Hirsch is centrally located in the Altstadt (old city centre). The spacious hotel offers a peaceful stay with spectacular scenic views of the Tauber Valley and historic sights. Enjoy a traditional buffet breakfast on the baroque-style Blaue Terrasse overlooking the Tauber River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing