We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Blumenau, SC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very well situated hotel, close to the Plonlein, which is a beautiful place in this medieval city. Despite the service was very basic and the fact they do not provide an wi-fi connection, the hotel was quite comfortable and offered a good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanaStr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    102
    35
    10
    7
See reviews for
96
124
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Staying at the Goldener Hirsh was an absolutely wonderful experience. The hotel is located on the most picturesque part of the city and really gives you the feel that you are stepping back in time. The view from the restaurant was stunning. Anyone who is anyone stays here, although the hotel keeps that fact low key. We would have never known that unless Peter, the front desk operator answered all of our questions about the place. He was a wealth of knowledge and we could have spent many more hours listening to him tell us about the rich history of the hotel but we had a long drive ahead of us and had to leave. We stayed in the gausthaus and really enjoyed our room. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemphisRed519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed here along with my parents on December 4. The location, first of all, was perfect as far as I'm concerned. There was a parking lot behind the building. Breakfast and check-in were across the street. It's on Untere Schmiedgasse, which may be the most picturesque part of Rothenburg.

They were a little short-staffed when we were there. On the one hand when we came to the desk they were extremely helpful. The guy I talked to about breakfast was eager to tell us about the town and give recommendations. On the other hand, we could feel how the place was short-staffed at the time when it came to breakfast. The breakfast was excellent but the hot water dispenser was empty (so no tea), the juice dispensers were almost empty as well, and it was hard to find anyone to help us with it. This was at 0730-0800. Those were minor things and not worth dinging the hotel in rating.

The rooms were comfortable (except the toilet in our particular room was unfortunately squeezed between the tub and the wall), and the shower leaked and had no curtain or barrier. However shutting the bathroom door completely blocked the noise. The rooms smelled and looked like they'd been recently refurbished.

Overall worth the price. Our only complaints were the shortage of staff at breakfast and the leaky shower, but we paid 119 Euro (initially booked a family room for four but when we got there they just gave us two rooms). The location, value, and good breakfast more than made up for the minor annoyances.

Room Tip: We had room 19. I'm an average-sized 175-pound guy. If you're bigger than that you may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekker243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itu-SP
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a very pleasant hotel. Its members are kind and warmly polite. Well situated, its accommodations are simply but comfortable. The breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the valley. The view is really breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizItu_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in the Pension of Goldener Hirsch (the gold deer) on the opposite of the street of the hotel. The parking was next to the pension and breakfast was in the hotel. Eventhough it was not very busy at the moment we stayed the night, service was ok. As most of the things in Rothenburg, the pension was a bit dated as well, but nothing was broken and everything was clean & working. Just the thing you expect in a pension in Germany. The town is quite funny, they still give you the atmosphere of going back centuries in time. (shops where you can buy swords & teddy bears, local delicacies and guided tours through the small town with a knight)
We stayed at Rothenburg for the night on our way back home from Italy and it was nice as it still gave us the holiday feeling. Eventhough it's only 3 km from the German Autobahn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KavdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

I loved this town. The hotel had an lovely olden day feel to it, there was a massive room with a piano, a bar was connected to it. The room was spacious, clean and had a lovely view of the valley. It is centrally located in the old town. The reception staff were lovely, breakfast was good and there was off street parking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veszprem
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We had 1 night in the Goldener Hirsch, and - comparing to the other reviews - I suppose it is worth to talk about few things.
The Hotel itself is in two buildings (the second is a "guest-house" on the opposite side of the street, and 'cause we were in the main one, I can't say anything about...).
When you create a hotel in an old, historical building, it's always happens under a kind of architectural pressure, and you must accept few compromises. They solved it well. The hotel interior is very interesting, special, and not without fantasy.
The floors are not always on an equal level...it's like in the old buildings from the medieval ages. There are a billiard-room, a small library, both of these with old, well-styled furnitures. On every floors there are halls, with paintings, tables, old armchairs...let's say: evewryone have the possibility of the choice: to book a room in a modern, almost all-the-rooms-are-the-same hotel - or in a medieval one, with it's specialties.
The second: as almost always, your hotel-stay will depend on the room you booked. We had a room - because we booked this kind... - with balcony, view to the Tauber Valley. It was very quiet, the panorama fantastic (really a relax only to sit there and watch the Valley and the forests). On the other side: the bathroom is "interesting": but this is one of the compromises I've mentioned. The beds are comfortable, the pillows are something cold pillows.
The breakfast was okay, even the service in the breakfast-room. The staff at the reception neutral. They are only "working there" seemingly. The reception oipened 14:30...it's strange and a little bit uncomfortable.
Generally the hotel is really good, interesting, with fantastic location and it was a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeszpremPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Hirsch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Hirsch

Property: Hotel Goldener Hirsch
Address: Untere Schmiedgasse 16-25, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldener Hirsch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Goldener Hirsch is centrally located in the Altstadt (old city centre). The spacious hotel offers a peaceful stay with spectacular scenic views of the Tauber Valley and historic sights. Enjoy a traditional buffet breakfast on the baroque-style Blaue Terrasse overlooking the Tauber River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Goldener Hirsch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing