We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel--centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2006

This hotel was simply wonderful! Went for Thanksgiving (American holiday at the end of November for our European friends) with family of 4. They accomodated all of us (plus the dog) in a great single room in the annex (about 50m from main hotel). Ancient building by American standards, but had been completely restored on inside so it looked only a few years old (even had a modern elevator).
The hotel is in an outstanding location....about 100m from the market square, no more than 1/4 mile from practically every major sight inside the walls of the city, and the cathedral is right next door.
Excellent "wine bar" in hotel that got lively after 8:00pm (in a good way) with a varied crowd (mostly middle-age people, but a few younger folks). This was a great place to have a couple drinks after dinner as much of the town is closed after 6:00pm.
Best part was the hotel's resturant! My wife and I usually like to venture out and try different culinary experiences, but we ended up eating all 5 meals at this resturant...and enjoyed every single one.
We'll be staying in this hotel everytime we return to Rothenburg!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Expat-in-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 451 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2006

My husband and I ate at this very charming restaurant in October 2006. The atmosphere was very german, and very clean. I had the breast of duck and absolutely the best au gratin potatoes I have ever eaten! I have looked for this recipe on line with no luck. My husband had the filet with mediterranean vegetables which was equally as good. Afterwards we did the Night Watchman tour.. not to be missed!! We would definitely return to Rothenburg and this restaurant.

Stayed: October 2006
4  Thank lschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2005

This is the 2nd year in a row I have stayed at this hotel. Things went a lot better last year than this year.
I originally requested a triple room but called back later to change that to a triple room plus a double room. I got one of my German coworkers to actually call for me so there would be no confusion with the change. I had actually emailed them multiple times before calling but had never received a reply.
When myself, my parents, and 2 siblings arrived at the hotel we were told they only had a triple room for us. They lady who assisted us was pretty rude and after much confusion we ended up with 2 "holiday flats" which were more than big enough for us. I couldn't understand why she had made such a fuss since they obviously had room for us.
The next day when I went to check-out I tried to use my VAT form and the same lady told me it was "not possible"! After telling her that I had used one the year before it magically became possible for me to use it.
There is much to be desired in the customer service of this hotel. The rooms were fine but like others have said, make sure you bring your toiletries. I also have no complaints about the breakfast. It's typical German style. The location is excellent though and is the main reason I will probably return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank crisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2005

So we wanted to stay at the most touristy town along the Romantic Road and chose this place because it was recommended in Fodor's Germany 2005 guide book. Location is excellent since it's inside the walled-off city. But I have to say I"m not impressed. It's definitely understaffed. Our room's furnishings was old and dingy. Our junior suite was above the restaurant (not good because you'll smell smoke and grease). People stayed until 10pm so it's noisy. There's no A/C but you still need to open up the window to get rid of that musty smell in the room. The bathroom was nice, but bring your toiletries. They only provide hand soap. The breakfast included was little to be desire...I'd rather eat at Deny's. What can I say, I ddin't find this hotel impressive and for the price, it's not worth it. Oh, and watch out for all those fruit flies in the restaurant.

5  Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2005

I spent 2 nights in the hotel.
I got a little lost getting to the hotel from the train station and stopped in the tourist office to get my bearings. The hotel is only 20 meters from the tourist office, and only about 25 meters from the main town square.
The staff is very friendly and they showed me where everything was located and then showed me to my room on the 2nd floor.
The room was nicely furnished with a large armour, a writing desk, cable tv, large bath tub and a personal safebox.
The breakfast buffet is nicely stocked and varied.
There is a whirlpool in the building as well near the elevator.
The staff was always friendly and helpful to me.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peterodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Seoul, SouthKorea
212
Reviewed July 20, 2004

I am surprised at all these great reviews. The hotel was very average, rather poor for the value. Rather expensive for what they were, which was just very basic, exceptionally dark rooms. and Most of all, Staffs are very rude and unfriendly. I had a poor breakfast. There are always overflowing with group team. You can't reserve any special care from hotel. I will not recommand this hotel to anybody. Rothenburg was fantastic though.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2004

I thought this hotel was in a good location, and was a nice place to stay. The decor of the hotel is very comfortable and makes you feel like you are somewhere special. I liked the wine bar and the restaurant. The room was okay, some of the light bulbs were out in the fixtures, and the room could have used a little makeover, but it was comfortable and had a nice few from the window. Overall, it s the location and downstairs lobby and restaurants décor that makes this hotel special. I would recommend it, just don t expect your hotel room to feel new.

4  Thank malyko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reichskuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reichskuchenmeister

Address: Kirchplatz 8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $130 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reichskuchenmeister 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, but noble and simply unique. The medieval Town of Rothenburg takes you on a very special Journey into History. Explore in the cobbled streets the Secrets of the Middle Ages. Take in the authentic flair of past times, which might be standing still and an atmosphere which will enchant you. Begin your Journey at the Hotel Reichskuchenmeister, your Home away from Home during your stay in Rothenburg. Experience a very personal, authentic and charming Hospitality for six generations and for almost 100 Years. Located in the very Heart of the historic Old Town, with spectacular views of the imposing St.-Jakobs-Church the Reichskuchenmeister is the ideal starting point for your Tour of the exciting Sights in one of the most beautiful and best preserved historic Old Towns in Germany. Join us for an exciting Journey into History. Enjoy your Stay in Rothenburg. Welcome to the Reichskuchenmeister! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Reichskuchenmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reichs Kuchenmeister Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing