We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Service at check in and check out is abrupt and rude. Not fun to be barked at upon arrival or when you leave. The staff were like that with everyone, just not a happy bunch. The hotel has lots of character, rooms are clean and location cannot be beat. The gentleman who assisted my husband to the hotel parking was the most personable staff we encountered. We had a quad room for a family of four and it worked well for one night. We didn't pay the 11 Euros per person for breakfast. (The highest price of all hotels we stayed in over 2 weeks touring several countries). Go to the café just on the opposite corner from the hotel. We all had a pastry or sandwich and a drink for 11 Euros in total. Whirlpool room is neat but water is not hot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank travelmum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 469 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

rothenburg is a magnificent place and the hotels location is just at the center of town, restaurant is very good in traditional bavarian dishes, especially flammkuchen is wonderful, you have to make reservation if you want to eat at the garden. rooms are clean and quiet, wi-fi is free at the lobby but charged if you want to use at the room.

Room Tip: hotel has two buildings, one of them is old historic and the other is new builded, we stayed at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mmmermer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We arrived last week after a long drive from the Italian Lakes, to be greeted by a stolid female receptionist (conveniently, her lapel badge sported her name, Frau Preeg) who was not so much unfriendly as downright hostile. It was extraordinary. When we asked politely, in German, whether she spoke English, she snapped at us that she did and then thundered that she could not even discuss our booking or where we might park the car until she had our passports. Basil Fawlty at his worst couldn't have been more charmless, or less suited to the hospitality industry.

Otherwise, the hotel pretty much delivered. The rooms were large and clean. The rates were reasonable. However, I resent being asked to pay for WiFi, and I also noted a sign on the ground-floor WC demanding that non-residents pay 50 cents for the use of the loo. I can only assume that such a policy was put in place by the appalling Frau Preeg, no doubt to keep out "the riff-raff".

We wouldn't dream of returning to the Reichs Kuchenmeister, or for that matter to Rothenburg itself, which is by any measure a remarkably preserved little medieval town, and certainly worth one visit, but might have been spun out of sugar. Not that there was anything sweet about our welcome. As far as we drove to get there, I would drive twice as far in the opposite direction to avoid ever having to deal again with a woman quite that rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Excellence is the optimal word for this hotel. The owner is personally interested in each and every guest, and her attitude is pervasive throughout the entire staff from the chef, to the waiters, to the custodial staff. The entire hotel is immaculate, and it is right in the center of the old city, making it easy to walk to every attraction you would ever want to see. You would be hard pressed to find a better hotel anywhere. I was amazed to see that it is only a three star hotel, which is way off target. It should be at least rated four stars.

Room Tip: Any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is situated in a wonderful location, very near the city center. The hotel was very clean, however the rooms were a bit outdated.,, mainly the bathrooms. Breakfast was average and wifi wasn't very good. The location makes up for any flaws with the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluefrogs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

It doesn't have the most inviting or friendly atmosphere, and the service was just alright (we didn't experience merriment or the friendliness mentioned in other reviews! Unlucky, I guess, or different staff on a different day). Still, questions were answered and recommendations given, and one of the extra hands in serving our plates was a delightful and peppy man (perhaps he's the one who other reviewers had!), making jokes and smiling warmly.
I really enjoyed my meal, and the schnitzel here was the best a companion had 'ever had in all their life'! (I tried a bit - it was nice, too!). All of us ordered differently, and we were all raving about our individual meals. We liked it so much that we returned for lunch the next day, though it couldn't compare to the dinner the night before. Lighter lunch options were just kind of 'alright' - heavier dinner options were delicious!
This restaurant was recommended by the concierge at the hotel we stayed at (not affiliated with Reichs Kuechenmeister). A delicious, traditional meal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 671PandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We decided to eat at the Reichs Kuechenmeister on Easter Sunday due to its outdoor seating and view of the church. The food was superb, large portions and very tasty and tender. we all had pork dishes. Our Waiter Jürgen was excellent, spoke excellent English and was engaging and had a great sense of humor. a very enjoyable and memorable meal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huntgrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reichskuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reichskuchenmeister

Address: Kirchplatz 8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $129 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reichskuchenmeister 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, but noble and simply unique. The medieval Town of Rothenburg takes you on a very special Journey into History. Explore in the cobbled streets the Secrets of the Middle Ages. Take in the authentic flair of past times, which might be standing still and an atmosphere which will enchant you. Begin your Journey at the Hotel Reichskuchenmeister, your Home away from Home during your stay in Rothenburg. Experience a very personal, authentic and charming Hospitality for six generations and for almost 100 Years. Located in the very Heart of the historic Old Town, with spectacular views of the imposing St.-Jakobs-Church the Reichskuchenmeister is the ideal starting point for your Tour of the exciting Sights in one of the most beautiful and best preserved historic Old Towns in Germany. Join us for an exciting Journey into History. Enjoy your Stay in Rothenburg. Welcome to the Reichskuchenmeister! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reichskuchenmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reichs Kuchenmeister Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing