We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant bar”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

With a beautifully central location (and a car park) this hotel is a great overnight place in Rothenberg. The room was rather dated but clean and well equipped. The view of the church was breathtaking. The basement bar was authentic and was busy with locals (and friendly)well into the small hours.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CharlieD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    159
    44
    10
    12
See reviews for
98
189
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfect location with garage parking (although it's a couple of blocks away). Super friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are all different and have lots of character. Restaurant and wine bar are great and will stay open as long as you're thirsty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldmil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff very helpful with providing info and parking our car. Our triple room was large and pretty. Location is perfect. I chose it based on price, location and reviews and I was not dissapointed. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We had a lovely triple room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chab186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. We had a standard size room this time which seemed to be recently remodeled. Very clean, nice mattresses, great soundproof windows which is important in Rothenburg. Great little biergarten. We have eaten at the restaurant twice and both times it was very good. Typical Bavarian food. Breakfast was nice but around 10EU / person if I remember correctly. We have stayed at two other hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber and this one is my favorite. From the town center the hotel is about a 1 minute walk uphill which keeps many of the tour bus visitors from heading in that direction.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBrown33547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Superb location to the square with plenty of nearby shopping and directly across the street from Saint James' Church - far enough away from tours so you can still experience Rothenburg at the heart of it. Beer garden on premises with a variety of wines - for a sweet white wine, try Murio Muskat: the best, by far - serving appetizers (German Pizza - for dinner or dessert with apples) and the best sauerbraten. Breakfast included the usual German cuisine as well as pancakes one morning. Each room was set up with different decor including the wall paper. Overall the hotel was eclectic, quaint, and adorable.

Potential drawbacks for some guests:
The clock tower can be heard from the hotel in the morning with the windows open.
Parking is in a different lot, a few blocks away - 6 euro per night, per car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

the hotel reception staff were very helpful. The. Room a good size, the hotel has a lift which is a plugin Europe. The breakfast was hearty and enjoyable, wifi available. Location in the town excellent. Totally recommended and I would definitelystaytheragain.

Room Tip: The room was just great, I could not remove my rating for the pool or fitness ctr which are not avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We wanted to visit Rothenburg and needed a place to stay. We found this hotel in the middle of the old centre of Rothenburg. The location is perfect. Next to the main square and next to the old church in a small street.

The hotel looks like a fairytale, until you check in..

The building is beautiful, but there are only a few very expensive rooms. When you book a doubleroom you will be send to the 'annex'. A building just around the corner with no character at all. There is no mention of this annex on the website, so this is really disappointing.
The room is the annex is nothing special. The room is a good size and has a clean bathroom. The room was at a courtyard so really quiet.

The service of the staff isn't very good. Breakfast was in a busy room. We asked for tea en got coffee three times! We had to ask the staff again and again to correct this and in the end the tea was thrown on our table.

When checking out the staff was again very rude.
It seems like the aim of this hotel is making much money on the location and not caring about anything else.

Our experience with German hotels is always very positive. So we were very disappointed this time.

Room Tip: Watch out for the annex! If you want to sleep in the main building with it's fairytale character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissesPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reichskuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reichskuchenmeister

Property: Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Address: Kirchplatz 8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reichskuchenmeister 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, but noble and simply unique. The medieval Town of Rothenburg takes you on a very special Journey into History. Explore in the cobbled streets the Secrets of the Middle Ages. Take in the authentic flair of past times, which might be standing still and an atmosphere which will enchant you. Begin your Journey at the Hotel Reichskuchenmeister, your Home away from Home during your stay in Rothenburg. Experience a very personal, authentic and charming Hospitality for six generations and for almost 100 Years. Located in the very Heart of the historic Old Town, with spectacular views of the imposing St.-Jakobs-Church the Reichskuchenmeister is the ideal starting point for your Tour of the exciting Sights in one of the most beautiful and best preserved historic Old Towns in Germany. Join us for an exciting Journey into History. Enjoy your Stay in Rothenburg. Welcome to the Reichskuchenmeister! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reichskuchenmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reichs Kuchenmeister Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing