We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and large room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and large room”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff very helpful with providing info and parking our car. Our triple room was large and pretty. Location is perfect. I chose it based on price, location and reviews and I was not dissapointed. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: We had a lovely triple room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chab186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    145
    39
    9
    12
See reviews for
80
171
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. We had a standard size room this time which seemed to be recently remodeled. Very clean, nice mattresses, great soundproof windows which is important in Rothenburg. Great little biergarten. We have eaten at the restaurant twice and both times it was very good. Typical Bavarian food. Breakfast was nice but around 10EU / person if I remember correctly. We have stayed at two other hotels in Rothenburg ob der Tauber and this one is my favorite. From the town center the hotel is about a 1 minute walk uphill which keeps many of the tour bus visitors from heading in that direction.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBrown33547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Superb location to the square with plenty of nearby shopping and directly across the street from Saint James' Church - far enough away from tours so you can still experience Rothenburg at the heart of it. Beer garden on premises with a variety of wines - for a sweet white wine, try Murio Muskat: the best, by far - serving appetizers (German Pizza - for dinner or dessert with apples) and the best sauerbraten. Breakfast included the usual German cuisine as well as pancakes one morning. Each room was set up with different decor including the wall paper. Overall the hotel was eclectic, quaint, and adorable.

Potential drawbacks for some guests:
The clock tower can be heard from the hotel in the morning with the windows open.
Parking is in a different lot, a few blocks away - 6 euro per night, per car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

the hotel reception staff were very helpful. The. Room a good size, the hotel has a lift which is a plugin Europe. The breakfast was hearty and enjoyable, wifi available. Location in the town excellent. Totally recommended and I would definitelystaytheragain.

Room Tip: The room was just great, I could not remove my rating for the pool or fitness ctr which are not avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We wanted to visit Rothenburg and needed a place to stay. We found this hotel in the middle of the old centre of Rothenburg. The location is perfect. Next to the main square and next to the old church in a small street.

The hotel looks like a fairytale, until you check in..

The building is beautiful, but there are only a few very expensive rooms. When you book a doubleroom you will be send to the 'annex'. A building just around the corner with no character at all. There is no mention of this annex on the website, so this is really disappointing.
The room is the annex is nothing special. The room is a good size and has a clean bathroom. The room was at a courtyard so really quiet.

The service of the staff isn't very good. Breakfast was in a busy room. We asked for tea en got coffee three times! We had to ask the staff again and again to correct this and in the end the tea was thrown on our table.

When checking out the staff was again very rude.
It seems like the aim of this hotel is making much money on the location and not caring about anything else.

Our experience with German hotels is always very positive. So we were very disappointed this time.

Room Tip: Watch out for the annex! If you want to sleep in the main building with it's fairytale character...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissesPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peniche, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Everthing is like the house of a grandmother, paper in the walls, old closets and chairs. But amazing, very tipical. With a superb location. The staff it's nice at the german way. The internet it's free in the lobby, but work very well. The unique less was the bell of the church begin to play at 7am, and it playes for a long time. Not guilty of the hotel, but after we wake up....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here only for one night, but no complaints. Like the rest of Rothenburg, this hotel's setting is really old school . Room was big enough, with a brand new bathroom. Staff is helpfull, but sometimes a bit curt (understandable, they have a LOT of guests to deal with). Restaurant is very good, definitely try eating here, even if you're not staying in this hotel. Location is excellent, right in the center of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reichskuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reichskuchenmeister

Property: Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Address: Kirchplatz 8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reichskuchenmeister 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Reichskuchenmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reichs Kuchenmeister Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing