We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food drink and outdoor dining area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level Contributor
454 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great food drink and outdoor dining area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We did not stay there but ate at the restaurant which was great. The restaurant could not be rated separately. They have a pizza with a potato crust that was awesome. Chanter ell mushrooms were in season and we kept piling them on.The beer was cold and the service was good. The outdoor dining area was spectacular. and with a great plaza view. We enjoyed a town concert while we were eating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    138
    38
    9
    12
See reviews for
80
163
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We paid and booked from Australia months ago, shown to our room it was like two single cots pushed together, went back to reception and asked for a double room which we had booked. " we only have single rooms" after an argument I finally convinced the lady to refer to our excite holidays sheet which she had filed. Oh, it stated double room King bed, she quickly inspite of her previous protestations, found one. It was a nice room, but, it was a hot night and no air conditioning, we could open the windows but our outlook was the massive noisy kitchen exhaust. It was hard to get any courtesy or help from most staff, although the fellow doing the garden at the car park went above and beyond with his assistance, wish some of it rubbed off. It was clean and comfortable, the Internet was an added charge and parking €6 per day, ok.
The Beer garden was a great spot and the restaurant food was good and reasonable, but again the service a little lacking courtesy. It seems that this place has a bus mentality and maybe they should concentrate on their tour groups.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Hotel Reichs- Küchenmeister is a lovely hotel right in the center of Rothenburg ob der Tauber - lovely orchids are placed all over & absolutely beautiful.

And, since we visited during the peak of asparagus season, they had a cute assortment placed in lobby, in front of the reception desk

There's a special parking area & a guy from the hotel will ride w/ you to their car park, so he can unlock the gate.

Comfy beds. Nice water pressure. Rooms were quiet & there is an elevator for those who may have trouble w/ stairs

Biggest complaint was that there was no WiFi!!

Next morning we enjoyed a nice breakfast - cereal cheeses breads soft boiled eggs. 3 layer latte that were creamy & had a good coffee to milk ratio.

Also got to hear the church bells in morning.....started ringing around 7am & while that was awful early for those of us on vacation, it was so pleasant, we didn't mind in the slightest

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Watch out. This hotel is devoted to huge tour groups. We were told breakfast was served at 7:30 and were concerned because we had an early train to catch. When we came down to the breakfast room there were long lines and most of the food was gone. The tables were full and many in the group were finishing their breakfasts! When we contacted the "hostess" she was rude and told us they had paid more so got to eat first at 7:00! What a horrible response, what a horrible way to treat a paying customer! Food was replaced of course, but the atmosphere was ruined. The rooms are small and we felt like the hotel had no interest in their individual guests. It seems their aim is simply to push through as many tour groups as possible. There are lots of places to stay in Rothenburg -- look elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiHaoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is that you could open the window up and have a beautiful view and hear the noises of the town square and the church bells. The hotel is filled with interesting paraphernalia and the staff dress up in traditional costumes. Breakfast was very nice and abundant. Our double bed was really two single bed mattresses pushed together with two single bed quilts despite us being on our honeymoon, which was a bit confusing and odd.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sugnayeragam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericl1098
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our second stay in Rothenburg in two years, and both times we stayed in this hotel. It is very charming inside the walls of the old city. We traveled with our 8-month old son, and they were very accommodating. They offered us a baby crib and offered us a room on the first floor that was easily accessible with the baby and all they bring. The owner and her husband are also very inviting. They greeted us for breakfast and made us feel very welcome.

As for location, there is not a better area inside the city to stay. Its a 20-second walk to the Marktplatz. We were in Rothenburg during the Christmas season, and loved their Weihnachtsmarkt, it was one of our favorite in Germany.

We highly recommend this hotel, and highly recommend visiting Rothenburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ericl1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel along our Romantik Road journey. The hotel has the perfect location within the ancient city walls. It was very easy to find and has it's own private secure car park (7 euros). It faces the beautiful St James Church. We were in Europe for 2 weeks and stayed at 7 different hotels. This one had the best breakfast out of all of them. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. There is no need to look anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whidbey-Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reichskuchenmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reichskuchenmeister

Property: Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Address: Kirchplatz 8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Reichskuchenmeister 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Reichskuchenmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reichs Kuchenmeister Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing