We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cosy little hotel”
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2006

This small cosy establishment goes well with the quaint small town such as Rothenburg. We took room 15 for the great valley view and enjoyed every moment of it. All rooms comes with plenty of peace and quite since the hotel is situated at the end of a calm street ; rooms come with a view either to the valley or to the tranquil former monastery garden that gives access to the Imperial City Museum which is recommended for a visit for the towns' art and cultural collection. The hotel has no dinning facilities but there are many places to eat close by.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaja69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Burghotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 622 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2006

The Burg is built into the wall of the city which means that the windows of many rooms look out over the beautiful valley of the Tauber, which is what we had. Each room has a different theme and both the rooms we stayed in were beautiful. (We stayed an extra night which is why we had to change rooms.) Rothenburg is a wonderful city. I can't say with certainty that nothing has changed since the fifteenth century but it certainly looks that way! Plenty of things to see and do - the Reich Museum is a must! The Burg is well placed to all the sights and very comfortable. Parking out the front (only guests allowed - cars are not encouraged in the town) or in the garage for a small fee. No restaurant in the hotel but there's plenty within a short walk. Free high speed wireless internet. Breakfast was good and they worked hard to accommodate my wife's dietary requirements. I haven't attached pictures as the website [--------------------] has a comprehensive set of pics.

The fellow on the desk was the first German I've met with a sense of humour. I told him my GPS had trouble finding his hotel. He said, "This is a medieval city - you need a medieval GPS"!

7  Thank Larts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2006

This was a great hotel with the most marvelious view of the valley. It is located on the wall of the city. It has an incredable view over the neighboring valley and is in teh most enchanting city in Germany. I only wish we had stayed longer

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Emil48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Munich
19
Reviewed May 26, 2006

This is a great small hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights in room 30,
the so called Tower Suite on the top floor with lovely views. The
bathroom was splendid, with large corner bath tub AND shower stall. We
were offered the wintersleep special rate of € 95 per night. Great
value! This rate seems to apply only in Winter. Wonderful romantic room.
View this and all other rooms and bathrooms on the hotel's website. We
had our first breakfast served in our room without extra charge. The
next mornings we enjoyed breakfast in the new part of the beautiful
breakfast room with panorama windows which allow you to sit like outside
on top of the wall in Winter surrounded by snowflakes.
The owner of the hotel is a marvellous, sophisticated and very charming lady,
married to a pianist who played our favourite songs in the "Steinway celar”.

See you in 2007!

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2006

The Burg Hotel is located in a wonderful medieval town. Accordingly, you may expect a wonderful medieval house. And you are right. But the price to sleep in this hotel is too much, considering the service you get:

1) First, there is no elevator to go up the stairs (all the rooms are upstairs). If you have big suitcases, this may be an inconvenient. (Yes! I know this is a medieval hotel but then... do not charge people 135 euros a night!!!).

2) The hourse is a bit... let's put it this way "cheesy" decorated... I know this may be the taste of the region but I also think it is overdone here... A doll house in the middle of reception???

3) The rooms are OK. Nothing special. And no special ammenities... The beds are designed following the Bayern style. But they are not done!!! I do not know if this is traditional, but I would rather have my duvet well put on the bed. I do not like to do my bed at a 135 euros a night price...

4) Bathrooms are completely dated (from the 80s). (See that the owners do not include pictures of the bathrooms on their website). There is no shower curtain. And almost no light... At least in the one I was assigned. It is creepy to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night.

5) The hotel is family run. Accordingly, they close after 10. There is a "bring your own key" policy... Again, too much for 135 euros a night.

6) Finally, breakfast, that is included in the rate. Breakfast is OK. The person serving it was nice and accomodating. Served coffee several times at our request. Food was plentyful. Nothing to object.

All in all, the hotel is OK, but not a "Relais&Chateau", if you know what I mean... Would not go again.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank TravelerNYNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2005

Another positive review!

We stayed for 3 nights and had room #8 for us and #9 for our kids (both on the 1st floor). The rooms were very tastefully decorated. Our room was quite big, with a sitting area and a 4-poster bed. The bathroom was very spacious with a large corner tub (no shower curtain). Our windows looked out over the little street out front and the enclosed courtyard to the side. The kids' room had a 2 twin beds put together and a separate sitting area and nice bath. Their views included the courtyard and part of the old city wall.

The staff was wonderful and helped to arrange Christmas Eve dinner reservations for us. The internet access in the small library was convenient. The breakfast was simple (meats, cheeses, yoghurt, fruit, and cereal) but was very good. It was a quick and easy walk to the main square, shops, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Scrapegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2005

This is another positive review for the hotel. I arrived at 11am and the people that stayed the night before had not left so they upgraded me for free to a better room. The breakfast was good and the view of the valley was really nice. Rothenburg is a great town and really nice to visit at Christmas time. Of all the hotels I went to in Europe this was the best one!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank chunterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $182 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing