We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and cosy”
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful and cosy”
Reviewed May 26, 2006

This is a great small hotel. We stayed there for 3 nights in room 30,
the so called Tower Suite on the top floor with lovely views. The
bathroom was splendid, with large corner bath tub AND shower stall. We
were offered the wintersleep special rate of € 95 per night. Great
value! This rate seems to apply only in Winter. Wonderful romantic room.
View this and all other rooms and bathrooms on the hotel's website. We
had our first breakfast served in our room without extra charge. The
next mornings we enjoyed breakfast in the new part of the beautiful
breakfast room with panorama windows which allow you to sit like outside
on top of the wall in Winter surrounded by snowflakes.
The owner of the hotel is a marvellous, sophisticated and very charming lady,
married to a pianist who played our favourite songs in the "Steinway celar”.

See you in 2007!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    97
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
175
322
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2006

The Burg Hotel is located in a wonderful medieval town. Accordingly, you may expect a wonderful medieval house. And you are right. But the price to sleep in this hotel is too much, considering the service you get:

1) First, there is no elevator to go up the stairs (all the rooms are upstairs). If you have big suitcases, this may be an inconvenient. (Yes! I know this is a medieval hotel but then... do not charge people 135 euros a night!!!).

2) The hourse is a bit... let's put it this way "cheesy" decorated... I know this may be the taste of the region but I also think it is overdone here... A doll house in the middle of reception???

3) The rooms are OK. Nothing special. And no special ammenities... The beds are designed following the Bayern style. But they are not done!!! I do not know if this is traditional, but I would rather have my duvet well put on the bed. I do not like to do my bed at a 135 euros a night price...

4) Bathrooms are completely dated (from the 80s). (See that the owners do not include pictures of the bathrooms on their website). There is no shower curtain. And almost no light... At least in the one I was assigned. It is creepy to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night.

5) The hotel is family run. Accordingly, they close after 10. There is a "bring your own key" policy... Again, too much for 135 euros a night.

6) Finally, breakfast, that is included in the rate. Breakfast is OK. The person serving it was nice and accomodating. Served coffee several times at our request. Food was plentyful. Nothing to object.

All in all, the hotel is OK, but not a "Relais&Chateau", if you know what I mean... Would not go again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TravelerNYNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overseas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2005

Another positive review!

We stayed for 3 nights and had room #8 for us and #9 for our kids (both on the 1st floor). The rooms were very tastefully decorated. Our room was quite big, with a sitting area and a 4-poster bed. The bathroom was very spacious with a large corner tub (no shower curtain). Our windows looked out over the little street out front and the enclosed courtyard to the side. The kids' room had a 2 twin beds put together and a separate sitting area and nice bath. Their views included the courtyard and part of the old city wall.

The staff was wonderful and helped to arrange Christmas Eve dinner reservations for us. The internet access in the small library was convenient. The breakfast was simple (meats, cheeses, yoghurt, fruit, and cereal) but was very good. It was a quick and easy walk to the main square, shops, and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Scrapegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2005

This is another positive review for the hotel. I arrived at 11am and the people that stayed the night before had not left so they upgraded me for free to a better room. The breakfast was good and the view of the valley was really nice. Rothenburg is a great town and really nice to visit at Christmas time. Of all the hotels I went to in Europe this was the best one!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chunterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Burg Hotel in Rotenburg is one of the best inside the city gates in Rothenburg. It was well worth the extra $$. Very customer friendly - we made a mistake on the arrival date and they were very accomodating. The room we got #20 has great views of the valley and the price includes a decent breakfast. Very close to the market square, walk on the wall and all attractions

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2005

We were utterly pleased with our stay at the Burg Hotel. I had expected the cute-ness that you hear about in Rothenburg, but what really wowed me was the natural beauty of the surrounding area. Burg Hotel was perfectly positioned to allow you to appreciate that beauty. Our room (#7) was spacious and adorably decorated. I would not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank matraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2005

Oh my, my, my! It's no wonder you read about the Burg Hotel in so many travel books and guides. It's a little storybook of an inn, set in a fairy tale town.

Down a small, winding medieval, cobbled street it comes to a dead end. But here's where the magic starts. You've just found the Burg Hotel. Immediately you think the Grimm Brothers themselves must run the place because it looks like something out of Hansel and Gretel. And it's the real deal - an old monastery from at least the 13th century turned into a charming and very romantic inn. It's so out of the way - you might miss it! And yet it's just a few blocks from the Glockenspiel. Inside, the Burg is beautifully and tastefully decorated with antiques and rich fabrics. All rooms are different - so spend time on their website to pick your fancy. Ours was Room 12 -with undoubtedly the BEST view of the Tauber valley.

The Hotel itself is right next to the famed wall - so you have quite a panoramic view. In the morning, you can even have your breakfast on the terrace and take it all in.

It's an elegant, classy, tasteful place run by an equally classy family who bend over backwards to welcome you to their magical place. They even have a garage for an extra 7 euro. A real bonus where parking is
non-existent and you just picked up your brand new BMW in Munich and are rather nervous about driving it around a medieval village in the first place.

The Hotel Burg - Simply marvelous!

Helpful?
12 Thank speechwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Property: Burghotel
Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#2 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing