We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask for More”
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here in early December (last year). I should have wrote this review much sooner. I forgot about it until recently while I was looking at a puppet we brought back from our 12 days in Germany. We named the rabbit "Otto" after the very kind owner of Burg Hotel. He and his staff were so incredibly nice. The helped us in every way possible. You just don't see this kind of courtesy much these days.

Their website does not have a way to book directly through the hotel but they do have a link to a booking website. Do the owner a favor and email or call them to reserve a room instead. By going through the third party booking website, the owner loses a big chunk of income. You've got support good people like this and booking directly is a great way to do it. Trust me, they do appreciate it. You'll see what I mean.

Thank you Otto! Of the many places we stayed during our trip, this was our favorite!

Room Tip: Book directly by calling them! They will show you how much they appreciate it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beanster2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
There are newer reviews for Burghotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 622 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Beautiful hotel built into the castle walls of the old city. Nicely updated, great beds, wonderful service, terrific breakfast. We had a suite on the 2nd floor that had beautiful views. Of the 7 hotels we stayed at in Germany, Austria, Switzerland, and France, this was our favorite (and not the most expensive)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmoulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had a fantastic stay here - left the car parked as we could stroll everywhere we needed. We brought our dog who enjoyed a nice park through a nearby gate. Room was ample, bed comfortable, large bathroom, great breakfast with stunning views of the valley below. My one concern was the weakness of the Wi-Fi in the room, but we were not in there much to begin with -- too much to see elsewhere! I would easily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My fiancee and I (along with our small dog) had a fantastic experience at the Burg Hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the room was furnished with a perfect blend of modern (bed, shower, tub) and historical items (stove, table, dressers, etc). The breakfast was delicious and served later which is perfect for those who like to sleep in and the wifi worked fine as well. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely come to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btravers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Exactly what I was looking for.
The hotel is part of the Burgo, the walls of the burgo are also the walls of the hotel.
We stayed in a room with 3 separate rooms, giant bathroom, private terrace with an astonishing view. The breakfast is very good and served in a room where you can see outside of the burgo.
Very nice staff.
I strongly recommend.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We looked at the reviews on tripadvisor for the town of Rothenburg and narrowed our search down to the Burghotel. We were delighted that our expectations were exceeded! The setting is so perfect, perched on the old wall, looking down on the valley. We loved the German style of the bedding, and we slept with the window open. We only woke up because of the wonderful bird songs!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwparis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Burg was a great spot to land for the town of Rothenburg. Easy to drive to and then easy to walk around town. Our room looked over the Tauber valley; very scenic. Clean, spacious bathroom, and friendly staff. Great breakfast and they made us fresh scrambled eggs. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedtedFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
589 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#2 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $182 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing