We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Exactly what I was looking for.
The hotel is part of the Burgo, the walls of the burgo are also the walls of the hotel.
We stayed in a room with 3 separate rooms, giant bathroom, private terrace with an astonishing view. The breakfast is very good and served in a room where you can see outside of the burgo.
Very nice staff.
I strongly recommend.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    93
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
169
295
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We looked at the reviews on tripadvisor for the town of Rothenburg and narrowed our search down to the Burghotel. We were delighted that our expectations were exceeded! The setting is so perfect, perched on the old wall, looking down on the valley. We loved the German style of the bedding, and we slept with the window open. We only woke up because of the wonderful bird songs!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwparis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Burg was a great spot to land for the town of Rothenburg. Easy to drive to and then easy to walk around town. Our room looked over the Tauber valley; very scenic. Clean, spacious bathroom, and friendly staff. Great breakfast and they made us fresh scrambled eggs. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedtedFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is impossibly charming. Very well locates, just 3 blocks from Marketplatz.
We were graced with a a very spacious room (7) with a very nice view of the valley. Room was very clean and heating worked pretty well.
Breakfest was wonderful, with a variety of fruits, yoghurt, cheeses, breads, cereal and pastries. On top of that, fresh squeezed orange/carrot/ginger juice and your choice of eggs.
Staff is really friendly and all spoke english.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BMigales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
243 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Maybe the most impression on us were the large old decorated rooms and the charming dinning room overlooking the valley. Sitting on the walls of Rothenburg one can imaging old time guards watching the valley below or up to date tourist enjoying the views and the rich breakfast served to us. Our hosts were informative and helpful with excellent English. We enjoyed the hotel and Rothenburg even though due to the winter most places were closed and the old town was deserted (some groups from Japan and that's it). Parking was easy and locating the place was O.K. since the GPS got mixed up (probably because of the narrow lanes and bad accuracy) but locals knew to direct us an it is easy to access. Price was reasonable a little on the high side.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was the best hotel we stayed at while in Germany! We found this gem through trip advisor and were not disappointed. Our room was on the 2nd floor and while there is no lift, the climb up the stairs is more than worth it. The view from our room was spectacular! Built right into the wall that encircles the old town, we had the picture perfect views over the valley from our window. Our room had it's own little sitting room and a large super comfy 4 poster bed (we had room 12). The breakfast each morning was great with eggs being cooked how you like and a excellent selection of breads and pastries. I also can't forget to mention the service. Gabriel and her father were fantastic and very accommodating. He even gave up his car park for us for the time we were there. And to top it off, they were very understanding when we managed to check out without handing our key back in!! We got to Fussen before we realised and hey were happy for us to post it back to them. We would recommend this place to absolutely anyone. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kahnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel is very well maintained for its age.

We stayed here one night with a two year old toddler and the owners made us feel very much at home. They rolled out a baby cot and showed us the kitchen with a fridge and microwave.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justforkix72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
#9 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Property: Burghotel
Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing