We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in an outstanding location”
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I took my parents to this hotel on a short trip to Germany. The small boutique style hotel is located in the historic medieval centre of Rottenburg ODT, an overnight stay in RODT is highly recommended as it allows you to enjoy the old town once the crowds of day trippers have departed! The hotel is built into the old town wall which offers stunning views across the valley, and also means the hotel is tucked away on a quiet side street, but a very short walk to the centre of the old town.

Not a cheap hotel, but you get what you pay for, the rooms are large and individually decorated to a high standard, the hotel staff were attentive, without being intrusive and the breakfast extremely good (complete with a view of the valley). However finding space to park on the street outside is tricky, you can park in a garage owned by the hotel, although considering the price of the hotel perhaps this should be included rather than an extra charge?

All in all highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Man-from-CFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 639 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We enjoyed walking around Rothenburg, picturesque town. It's on the Romantic Road through Germany. Good breakfast. I wouldn't spend more than 1 or 2 nights here, not much to do. There are only 5 parking spots out front of the hotel, but there is parking in a nearby warehouse for a reasonable fee. This warehouse parks about another 5-7 cars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Burg Hotel is absolutely fabulous! We stayed at the hotel for four nights, and were amazed that it's "only" rated a 3-start hotel! The location of the hotel is perfect, on a quiet area of the street, built into the old city wall, but very near all the attractions of this amazing old city! The hotel itself was just great. Excellent, friendly, helpful and pleasant staff. The rooms are extremely comfortable, much better than one would normally expect for a three star hotel. The views out the windows of the breakfast room are breathtaking, and the breakfast food (included in the price) is tasty and plentiful. The room rates for the value received are quite reasonable. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Rothenburg, Germany.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandJ20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here overnight on our road trip from Frankfurt on the Romantic Road. Perfect little hotel, great service from the inn keeper, great breakfast and warm welcome & checkout. We arrived early, but they went out of the way to clean our room quickly to get us checked in. Our room has great views of the surrounding country side.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHtravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were warmly greeted by the innkeeper's wife and told to unload our luggage and then they'd figure out parking. Otto the innkeeper came in and took my husband out to sort out parking. It turns out that he moved his own car so my husband could park. So nice! The room was gorgeous, consisting of a beautiful bedroom with a romantic posted bed and a separate sitting area. There was a kettle for tea and we had a gorgeous view over the valley. The breakfast room had the same wonderful views. You could get cooked eggs for breakfast along with the usual buffet. There was a lovely outdoor eating area which we didn't have a chance to use since the weather was cold and rainy. I would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msu_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at the Burghotel for 2 nights while traveling throughout Germany and Austria. This was one of the best hotels we stayed. Although the hotel is built into the old wall of Rothenburg (one the most romantic cities in the world), our room (#24) was beautifully decorated, modern, and romantic. The bathroom was quite large and very clean.

The innkeeper was extremely helpful as he carried our luggages up 2 flights of stairs. The breakfast area overlooks the meadow (you can eat outside when the weather is good). The staffs are very attentive and friendly. Don't let the price scare you, it's worth every euro. We loved every moment while we were there.

Room Tip: Room 24 overlooks the convent garden and part of the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recently spent 4 nights at this delightful hotel. It is right on the city walls in the heart of Rothenburg and is within walking distance of everything. It is slightly difficult to find if you are driving as you have to drive down a narrowing cobbled street which finishes in a dead end . Not a lot of adjacent parking unless you are lucky when you arrive! No lifts so be prepared to climb stairs. Our room was excellent with views over the valley below and plenty of space. Breakfasts were a slightly chaotic affair but on the whole fine. Eating out a little hit and miss. Places seemed to close early but one or two bars still opened late and also a cocktail bar. Climb up town hall tower worth the effort! Classic German town well worth a visit and this hotel ideally placed

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonmacanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0 mi away
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
#9 of 45 in Rothenburg
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $130 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing