We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”
Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My review is long overdue. We stayed at this hotel last summer for 2 nights and it was fabulous. The staff was friendly, the breakfast each morning was very plentiful (they'll even cook eggs to order). Our room opened onto the balcony along the wall. The views were just stunning. We enjoyed sipping wine and watching the sunset in the evenings from our spot on the castle wall - imagining others enjoying that same view hundreds of years ago. Highly recommend this hotel. It is also on the edge of the town, so very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room that opens onto the balcony if traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Napatraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 642 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is wonderful!

The staff are without exception polite, helpful and very friendly. They helped us out with our bags, with directions to various places - they are just lovely people.

The location is fab - just a few minutes from the main street, a little away from the hustle and bustle, which was perfect for us.

We love that is is built into the city walls, it has such great character. The views from the breakfast room and adjoining terrace are stunning. We sat out there with a book both mornings and late afternoon and it was really quiet and peaceful.

Breakfast is lovely, lots of choice and all beautifully prepared. We absolutely loved the fresh apple, carrot and ginger juice, such a nice idea, almost made me want to buy a juicer for home!

I have a feeling our room (21) is probably one of the most basic compared to others we saw and pictures on here, but we did book late and the hotel was nearly full. It was spotless, and comfortable. Although I would not knock any points off for it, the bathroom does need a refurb - it is huge, and again, spotless, but it has a 70s brown suite which just doesn't look very fresh. The shower is also awkwardly placed at the opposite end of the bath to the shower screen and sprays out into the room when it is turned above a certain pressure. Having said that this did not detract from our stay in any way - hopefully this room is next on their list for an upgrade!

We would absolutely return, and highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitkatkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Only stayed one night in this quaint hotel. It has a charm about it that can not be manufactured, but the room decor was a little kitsch. The staff where lovely, the breakfast room had delightful views. It was a little difficult to get to, our GPS put us at a street my husband wouldn't drive down, but we found another way in. Also the town is filled with day visitors who take no notice of traffic. The room rate included a continental breakfast.
I wouldn't recommend staying when it is very hot as there is no air conditioning. I am also not a fan of the German habit of providing only a thin pillow and quilt, with no top sheet, over two single beds pushed together.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethDid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unfortunately, I've spend just one night here with my wife and my 6 years old daughter. My family and I fell in love with this hotel! You will have one of the most terrific views in the breakfast if you stay close to great wall where the hotel has been constructed, which is simply one of the main attractions in Rotheburg ob der Tauer! The staff is amazing, very kind, very patient. The room is pretty comfortable and clean, and with a large bathroom. The city itself is so small, that any place is close from everything, but this is the best hotel in Rothenburg ob der Tauer. I have no doubt about it. Jut to remind that the hotel is one of the "silence chain of hotels". When you be there, you'll know why. Highly recommended! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VICTORLIMAMORSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We - two adults and two children - stayed in the Burg Hotel's family apartment which was just fantastic. A master bedroom, a living room and a luxurious bathroom on one floor, and two separate bedrooms (and a bathroom) on the second floor. Also, a very unique balcony situated ON the castle wall of Rothenburg - the sunset view of the valley was breathtaking.

We could not have been happier with the room, location and breakfast. A short walk to everything and we felt very welcome. Highly recommended. Easily the best place we stayed in our two weeks trip around Germany.

Room Tip: The family apartment is fantastic - roomy and with a fantastic balcony. It does not have a room numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Hotelguest, thank you for your great comment. You described our BurgSchlösschen, one of our 3 Family Apartments. This can be seen on our web site. To book a certain Apartment or room our guests can contact directly per E-Mail and request the prefered room. This is not possible with online booking.
I hope to see you again.
Gabriele Berger-Klatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

SERIOUSLY, this is the most amazing hotel experience I have EVER had! The man and woman who work at the front desk are so kind and delightful, and the hotel is absolutely unbelievable. We stayed in the "Family Suite/Apartment," which was SO COOL! It was a two-story suite (actually three stories if you count the main floor where you enter the suite and walk up your own flight of stairs leading to the suite...so fun!) with the most incredible views I have ever seen....literally from every window! Our suite had three bedrooms, sleeping six VERY comfortably. The breakfast was DELICIOUS (they had made-to-order eggs, fresh muffins, hand-squeezed apple juice, and LOTS of other choices) and you can sit out on their gorgeous patio while you eat. I also loved it because it was only about a five-minute walk to the city center, so it was super convenient. Yum. I want to go back.

Room Tip: Choose the family suite/apartment! It was gorgeous and inexpensive for six people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent one night here and loved it. It is located right on the wall of Rothenburg. It was exhilerating driving into the old city, but we could park out the front of the hotel after the owner helpfully moved his own car. The hotel is charming, very sweet, with a Steinway in the basement that you can tinkle on. We stayed in the room on the top floor. There was no lift, so it was a bit of a hike up to our room. We didn't mind, as being high up we had an outstanding view both over the city and over the wall. The room itself was enormous, like a mini apartment. It took up the entire area of the hotel! There was a lovely bathroom with a big bath, plenty of room for storage, and a minibar and comfortable lounge. The location is marvellous, a few minutes walk away from the centre of the old city. You can walk around the town wall, starting from the hotel. It took about an hour to get around. Breakfast was lovely, you can have it on the wall itself if the weather is nice. An excellent hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your great comment. We actually love our guests to Play the Steinway, and right how there is a Japanese Pianist at our Hotel playing in the evening, pactising for concerts.
Gabriele Berger-Klatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0 mi away
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
#9 of 45 in Rothenburg
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $133 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing