We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burghotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burghotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was clean, low-key, and friendly. The location is right along the wall which means it is quiet and peaceful. Herr Otto in the front office (the owner's father) is a true gentleman. He made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. Can't imagine staying in a better place! Our boys (ages 10 & 11) loved this hotel. Lots of nooks and crannies and courtyard space to explore.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great. Nice terrace off the room with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Hotelguest, thank you for your wunderful comment. Please stay in touch with us over our web site and Facebook and visit us again. Gabriele Berger-Klatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    93
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
169
295
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a gem inside the walls of the beautiful town of Rothenberg. We were made very welcome and given good advice for our visit. Our room was very large with character, antique furniture yet all necessary mod cons- Wifi; Tea making; TV; hairdryer etc. The breakfast room view was fantastic and the range at breakfast was excellent. We loved it here and will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

All of the previous reviews were correct. In the middle of a 2 week vacation across Bavaria, we stayed here the last 2 nights. Very difficult to leave. We are traveling with 2 kids, 12 & 10, and stayed in family apartment. Unbelievable space. Ornate carvings, heavy wooden hand-carved doors, exposed beam ceiling etc... Cannot speak to smaller rooms but this one blew us away. Ask for family apartment behind reception area.

Otto was kind, helpful and pleasant to chat with each time we returned. The included breakfast was excellent. In addition to the usual fare, they also make you fresh eggs any way you prefer. Location is great. at the end of the lane, literally built in to the wall surrounding the city. 5 minute walk to anywhere within the walled city

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TadTolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Hotelguest, thank you so much for your recent visit and your fabulous comment. We offer different Family Apartments, and each of them is depicted on our web site. If you reserve through our web site or if you reserve through a simple E-Mail request, you may choose which one you want to book.
We hope to see you again.
With best regards,
Gabriele Berger-Klatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved this lovely hotel and the staff who helped us while we were there. Our room, number 15, had a great view over the valley and was very quiet. The location could not have been better-easy walking distance to everything. Everyone was very helpful and could not have been nicer. They had free WiFi in all of the rooms which is important for us. Our room was really two rooms and thus was quite large.

We wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Illini3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Hotelguest, thank you for your recent visit and your fabulous comment. Your room # 15 actually used to be 2 rooms, but we renovated and made one large room out of what used to be room # 18 and # 19. It sleeps 3 people easily, and even 4 with a rollaway bed. If you want to book the same room again, you can ask for this by booking through our web site or sending an E-Mail to us.
I hope to see you again.
Gabriele Berger-Klatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice sized rooms, modern amenities. Very helpful receptionist. Big bathtub in the toilet, and separate shower too. We had almost a private garden in room 2, with excellent view to outside of the wall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

How can this be Number 02? Well, actually that doesnt matter. This hotel is exceptional!
I loved it so much that I cancelled my trip to Salburg (staying in Sacher hotel) to come back here and stay 2 more nights.
Everything was perfect, thanks to all people who work there, specially Gabrielle who helped us a lot in everything we needed.
The breakfast has a view to an amazing Valley, where you can listen to birds and a river sound... Plus, you could have from Muffins, Waffles, many kinds of breads, cheeses, jams, natural juices with ginger, or whatever u wanted!!!
The rooms are huge, the beds are like clouds! The bath tub was fantastic, the biggest I ever entered...
The decor of the Hotel was something apart. Everything made with love, really fine taste in every single object.
The location couldnt be better: 3 mins from the main square, 2 blocks from Burggarten and with some rooms facing the magnific valley! wow!!!
DONT THINK TWICE: STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuiMilani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It was a pleasure for us having you as a charming and friendly hotelguest.
Gabriele Berger-Klatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We would highly recommend this hotel. The booking we made was very reliable and check in was very simple. The rooms were spotless and the staff very accomodating. WOW, this walled city is great. We spent two days here and the city still had more to offer. The night watchman tour is a must!! The restuaurant was very good and the breakfast buttet was excellent.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be good. The hotel website is very accurate on what it offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabbekla, Inhaber at Burghotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Hotelguest, thank you very much for your comment. It is very usefull that you recommend our new web site. There we depict each room. If hotelguests want a certain room number, which happens quite often, they may choose and reserve through our web site. As each of our rooms is furnished differently and each room is special concerning views, bathroom style, fourposterbed or not, floor level and so on, we recommend to our guests viewing our Website and decide from there.
We hope to see you again.
Gabriele Berger-Klatte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
Hotel BurgGartenpalais
#9 of 46 in Rothenburg
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burghotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burghotel

Property: Burghotel
Address: Klostergasse 1-3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
#2 Family Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Burghotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Burghotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burghotel Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber
Burghotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing